Lizzy Borden – My Midnight Things Review

Released by: Metal Blade Records

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Rock




1. My Midnight Things
2. Obsessed With You
3. Long May They Haunt Us
4. The Scar Across My Heart
5. A Stranger To Love
6. The Perfect Poison
7. Run Away With Me
8. Our Love Is God
9. My Midnight Things (Reprise)
10. We Belong To The Shadows
11. Long May They Haunt Us (Reprise)
12. Silent Night
13. Waiting In The Wings (2018)


I remember back in the day, flipping through some magazine like Hit Parader and seeing this ad for a new album called Visual Lies by this band Lizzy Borden. This silver faced, freakish looking person was seeming to climb out of the TV with this garish smile that was equal parts lunacy and violence. I wasn’t quite sure what to anticipate, but I was compelled enough to order the tape. Upon its arrival, I was struck by how much the sound and the visual worked perfectly together. Glammy without being wimpy, heavy metal without losing the melody; Lizzy Borden was another one of those sounds I had been waiting to hear for some time, even at such a young age. I began my lifelong love for their music. It seemed with each album Borden would reinvent himself- a modern day Alice Cooper with his own vision and sound. Since the 1987 follow-up to Visual Lies, Master of Disguise, Borden has taken long spans of time to record new material. 2000 saw the return with Deal With the Devil which was then followed up seven years later with Appointment With Death. With every subsequent release, you find yourself wondering how drastic will the sound change? Will he move away from the style that brought him to the world? And again, with his brand new album My Midnight Things, that same question swirled in my mind, only to be answered the same way as before: he only gets better and better.

My Midnight Things manages to maintain that signature sound that is 100% Lizzy Borden, heavy and melodic, into 2018 without it sounding out of place. It’s as if he’s unable to make a bad album. Perhaps the long span of time between releases it what keeps him sounding so fresh? I just try to wrap my mind (as well as my ears) around tracks like “The Scar Across My Heart” which is no denying a Lizzy track, but he’s managed to add a depth to it, taking pages from modern acts that might not be totally metal, but he makes it so. The fact he’s able to keep writing such catchy songs as “Long May They Haunt Us,” “My Midnight Things,” and “We Belong To the Shadows,” consistently keeping his sound vital, current yet intrinsically Lizzy Borden…he’s far deserving of more success than he has at this point. Plus you get a very dark and foreboding version of “Silent Night” that gives a whole new spin on the Christmas classic!

It seems as if Lizzy Borden is always working on an album, and around the time it is unleashed I finally hear about it coming out, and it’s been a surprise three albums in a row now. Not that I’m complaining about these wonderful surprises, because with each new album I love his music more and more. No one past or present has a musical presentation as dramatic, inspiring, and moving as Lizzy Borden, and his My Midnight Things keeps his talent on that same trajectory.


Written by: Chris Martin

Ratings: 9/10

Knight Fury – Time To Rock Review

Released By : Self-Released

Genre : Hard Rock/Heavy Metal

Link :



Chris Sanders – Guitars

William King – Vocals

Dave Ellefson – Bass

Ken Mary – Drums



01. Nothing Left

02. Attack

03. Forbidden

04. Battle For The Castle

05. Awaken

06. The Message

07. Endless Night

08. Out On Your Own

09. Believe

10. Time To Rock


With the large amount of excellent releases in the rock and metal genres lately, unfortunately there’s always going to be a handful of great records that slip through the cracks. One album I would definitely put in this category is TIME TO ROCK by KNIGHT FURY, released in the latter part of last year without a record label. You may be tempted to skip this one due to it’s self-released nature, but this ain’t your ordinary unsigned band.

KNIGHT FURY was actually put together by none other that Chris Sanders from LIZZY BORDEN and also features MEGADETH bass player Dave Ellefson, ALICE COOPER BAND drummer Ken Mary and metal vocalist extraordinaire William King. A very juicy line-up indeed and the perfect combination of experience, skill and raw hunger. The band don’t try and take their music to a new level or anything like that, instead they opt for a very dedicated hard rock/heavy metal hybrid that takes a little from the melodic metal side of things for good measure. The experience of the members involved in this band shines through in every aspect of this album and you don’t just get a great feel like this unless you really know what you’re doing.

There’s an interesting element here in the fact that vocalist William King is probably not the typical sort of guy you would usually expect to front this sort of outfit. He has an almost Vince Neil quality about him at times and occasionally even brings out a voice that would usually be more associated with AOR music, but don’t panic he can still metal wail when he wants to.  This doesn’t mean that he doesn’t belong here though, in fact this slightly different vocal approach really adds to everything else that is going on. The rhythm section is a sgood as you would expect when you get two guys of the caliber of Ellefson and Mary together. Where the album truly shines though is is the outstanding guitar work of Chris Sanders, who is quickly becoming one of today’s most exciting metal stringers. I’m not the first one to say it I know, but Sanders tone and guitar phrasing really does remind me of the the late Randy Rhodes, and as a traditional metal guitarist that would have to be one of the biggest compliments you could receive. The riffs all have that sharp mid-eighties metal feel to them and the lead breaks are virtuoistic at every turn. Some good old shredding never goes astray with this kind of release either.

If you are looking for something different and innovative then TIME TO ROCK probably isn’t for you, but if you yearn for the days when technical ability, great songwriting and skillful vocals were just as important as image then this new KNIGHT FURY project certainly offers up a tasty platter. Personally I hope the members involved in this project are looking at it as more of a proper band thing as I’d really like to hear what they can come up with next.

Written By ZeeZee

Rating : 8/10