Album Reviews

Bob Seger The Silver Bullet Band – Live Bullet

Released by Capitol Records

Review Added January 22, 2010

. Producer: Punch Andrews, Bob Seger
. Recorded: Cobo Hall, Detroit, September 4–5, 1975
· Running Time: 70:40
· Original Release Date: April 1976
· Musical Style: Classic Rock
· Links:

1. Nutbush City Limits
2. Travelin’ Man
3. Beautiful Loser**
4. Jody Girl Listen
5. I’ve Been Working
6. Turn the Page**
7. U.M.C. (Upper Middle Class)**
8. Bo Diddley
9. Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man**
10. Heavy Music
11. Katmandu**
12. Lookin’ Back**
13. Get Out of Denver
14. Let It Rock**
Hot Tracks**

* Bob Seger – lead vocals, guitar, piano
* Drew Abbott – lead guitar, background vocals
* Alto Reed – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, percussion, background vocals
* Robyn Robins – organ, clavinet, mellotron, piano on “Katmandu”
* Chris Campbell – bass guitar, background vocals
* Charlie Allen Martin – drums, background vocals, answer vocals on “Heavy Music”, harmony vocals on “Jody Girl” and “Get Out of Denver”

When deciding on what to review as an inaugural “classic album” I soon found out that it would be a hard decision indeed, so many great records that i have personally been influenced with. One of my all time favorite singers is Bob Seger, his classic mid western rocker voice has been a staple of classic American rock since the 70’s. It was a hard choice to pick a record from Bob and The Silver Bullet, but I decided to review Live Bullet. Recorded on location in Cobo Hall in Detroit, Michigan and to this day it stands as one of the best rock live albums of all time. Bob Seger was 8 studio albums into his career when he decided to record this exceptional piece of rock essential. The resultant release would be one of the best live albums in rock history. It would also make Seger a star and his follow-up, Night Moves, would put the word super in front of star. Live Bullet would go on to sell five million copies in the United States and another two million in Canada.

Some great tunes from the “Beautiful Loser” record make an appearance, the timeless classic “Travelin Man”, the title track “Beautiful Loser” bounces with pure Seger attitude, who can forget such a voice, screams pure white collar mid western gritty to the bones. The ballad “Jody” is a nice touch and Seger tears a hole in the sky with a soulful performance here. “Katmandu” blazes like a saddle on fire through the desert, pure hard rock American style. Who can forget the outlandish straight rocker “Nutbush City Limits” as Bob yields the following “Got to watch out for the police, Drivin’ through Nutbush, Got to watch out for the police,If you’re drivin’ through Nutbush”. “Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man” comes off even stronger the the studio version, not only was Seger at the height of his career, you can easily feel the vibrant emotion blasting through that microphone. And of course how can we forget what has become one of the most recognizable ballads in the realms of rock for all time, “Turn The Page” sounds as haunting and driven as anything you will ever hear, not to mention it became of the best live rock songs ever performed, enough said.

Live Bullet is timeless piece of classic rock, perfectly displaying Bog Seger’s gritty pipes with a a wonderful set of musicians, who helped shape the progression of rock during those times as we all know it. This is a record that no matter how old you are, what time, what year, it can be played on a nice summer Sunday, drinking some beers with some buddies, watching some football, kicking back and enjoying one of the best rock live albums of all time.

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys  10/10

Tell Us How You Feel