Album Reviews

Jorn – Spirit Black

Released by Frontiers Records – 2009

Review Added October 23, 2009

· Produced By: Tommy Hansen
· Running Time: 40.47
· Released: June 05, 2009
· Musical Style: Melodic Metal / Hard Rock
· Links:

1. Spirit Black
2. Below*
3. Road of the Cross*
4. The Last Revolution
5. City Inbetweeen*
6. Rock And Roll Angel *
7. Burn Your Flame *
8. World Gone Mad *
9. I Walk Alone*
Hot Tracks**

* Jorn Lande: Vocals
* Jimmy Iversen, Tore Moren: Guitars
* Willy Bendiksen: Drums
* Sid Ringsby: Bass

What is there to say about Jorn Lande that hasn’t already been said in the past? Known to many as one of the best and greatest hard rock vocalists of all time, in a career that spans over 30 years, the Nordic singer has taken part in many projects such as (Millennium, Ark and Masterplan, Jorn was recently featured on spectacular projects such as Tobias Sammet’s “Avantasia). His voice is uncanny with a treacherous gorge of powerful vocals and often compared to the greats like David Coverdale and Dio, simply said the man has been a constant staple of hard rock and everything that’s good about the genre. I first came across Jorn in the masterpiece album from Ark titled Burn The Sun which to this day I consider one of the best prog hard rock albums of all time. Since then of course Lande has been involved in many other projects mentioned above and then there is his solo stuff, while still solid and rocking to his true nature, some of his solo stuff has just never blown me away like his work with Masterplan and Ark when he was part of a full time band and all members involved in the creative process. I’m by no mean demeaning his solo stuff because “The Duke” for instance is a great record but just not the same magic as with these two bands. So now he comes back with his 7th studio LP titled “Spirit Black” and I just looked forward to hearing this man’s amazing voice once again and perhaps something new in the process to change things up a bit from the formula on he’s other solo albums.

Opening a dark void is the first track titled “Spirit Black”, Lande here creates a nice groove rhythm that doesn’t stray much away from his other previous solo stuff but manages to sound a little refreshing with some nice changes in the composition. The soaring chorus of “Below” highlights this prime cut as Jorn crunches the stop and go rhythm here in an attempt to balance the record. “Road To The Cross” is a streaming pile driver of thrust and hard rock energy, this is a perfect example where Lande shines the best, a bit more uptempo mood adds a different frantic feel to the song, add a nice melodic solo and it makes it a top choice for best track on the album. Bringing back some classic Rainbow licks the standout track “Rock And Roll Angel” steam rolls it’s way with Jorn again powerful voice making a difference and pushing the track over the edge. With a quick and shift pace the track “World Gone Mad” pushes the tempo and sounds very intriguing, both the sound and the rhythm here makes it another pleasure to listen to, excellent.

The production here is as tight as ever with help from super producer guru Tommy Hansen, and Jorn again delivers a solid piece of consistent hard rock. In the end is simple for me, I think we have seen what Jorn has to offer with his solo career, Mr Lande you have nothing else to prove, I just feel that with the news that Lande is back in Masterplan and is recording a new album together, that finally we are going to get some truly great material that will sure deviates from his solo stuff. Again his voices is in fine tune, although a couple misses with the songs, but still up there with some of his best solo work. To me Jorn Lande’s best has been when he was in a full time band when all members we’re involved in the process together, and is my hope that with the new Masterplan record that we will be enjoying some epic tunes come early 2010

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys  7/10

Tell Us How You Feel