Album Reviews

Timesword – Chains of Sins

Released by 7 Hard Records – 2010

Review Added April 28, 2010

Release by: 7 Hard Records 5th MARCH 2010
Style: Progressive Metal

1. Thousand Year Kingdom
2. Highway To Paradise
3. A New Way
4. World Confusion
5. Skyland
6. Real Mystery
Hot Tracks**

Vocals – Mark Pastorino
Guitar – Dan Logoluso
Bass – Luca Prederi
Drums – Alex Galanti
Keys – Alberto Sonzogni

TIMESWORD are new progressive metal band from Italy that have just signed to 7 HARD records for the release of their debut full-length album CHAINS OF SIN.
The easiest band to compare these guys to is definitely DREAM THEATER, not quite in the same class of course, but who is? There is plenty of variation to be found within the album and as per usual with a prog metal album there are some really long tracks on offer. For example the last track REAL MYSTERY goes for around twenty minutes, split into five intervals topped off with a great female guest vocal by LILI ROSE in the last interval ‘THE NEW WORLD’.

Also of note is a guest contribution on two songs from bass master BRYAN BELLER who has played and recorded with STEVI VAI, JAMES LaBRIE and many others. Whilst the music on the album is very commendable and the vocals are of a high quality, the true standout for myself on this album were the lyrics. Each word fits perfectly and you can tell that deep, well thought out lyrics are very important to the band . I have to make a special mention of the opening track A THOUSAND YEAR KINGDOM which starts with a great intro and opens up into one of the better prog metal songs I’ve heard in recent years, a true album highlight and just about worth the entry fee alone.

TIMESWORD have managed to capture the true essence of modern day Progressive Metal and wrapped it up in a neat little package that it surely worthy of your attention, especially if you’re a fan of the more melodious bands of the genre a-la DREAM THEATER.

Written by Zeezee

Ratings Zeezee  8/10

Tell Us How You Feel



Comments are closed.