Album Reviews

Jon Mullane – Shift

Released by: Escape Music

Release Date: July 23rd, 2010

Genre: Hard Rock




1. Make You Move

2. Got It Goin’ On

3. Sin City

4. Missing Time

5. You Get What You Get

6. The One That Got Away

7. Change Your Life

8. Go The Distance

9. Here We Go

10. Make You Move (Move Mix)

The Canadian hard rocker Jon Mullane has delivered a straight ahead rocker record which steadily leans towards a modern rock fanbase with a touch of classic Billy Idol circa “Rebel Yell” in a couple of places.  I had not heard much from this man until I heard of the track “Make You Move”. In 2008, Jon’s song Make you Move was picked up by NBC TV for their Summer Olympic promos. The tune brought Jon’s sound into North America in a big way. It was on the Mediabase/BDS Charts in the Hot AC and Rock formats and received extensive radio play. Well the song is certainly catchy and utilizes the electronica elements very well so naturally I wanted to check out the rest of what he had to offer.

The interesting use of modern keys and simple basic guitar riffs brings flashes of  “The Killers” on some of the tracks like “Missing Time” and “You Get What You Get”.  The synthesizers 80’s influence is evident all throughout the record which is one of the few highlights here as the writing is relatively simple in most places. The ballad “The One That Got Away” is a nice grower as the slow buildup brings some refined class to the record. “In a state of confusion” states the opening lyrics in “Go The Distance” which is a solid straight ahead rocker that screams mainstream all the way.

I’m not sure what to truly make of this one, I mean for what is worth, yes is an interesting unbalanced case of mistaken identity, some tracks like vintage 80’s synth madness and second half of the record focuses more on more laid back songs. The writing could use some help and Mullen’s voice is nothing extraordinary. Noting really stands out as far as breaking new ground, if your more into modern rock tunes check him out and make up your own mind, perhaps in the future the evolution of Mullen will be a little more clear and concise.

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys  6/10

Tell Us How You Feel