Album Reviews

Magnetico – Songs About The World

Released by : Music Magnet Productions

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Modern Hard Rock/Progressive Rock



Line Up:

Rafael Moreira – Lead Vocals and Guitar

Corey McCormick – Bass and Backing Vocals

Joey K. – Drums and Backing Vocals


1. The Emperor

2. Invisible

3. Nothingness

4. Indigenous

5. Avalanche

6. Psychological Control

7. Letter For A Friend

8. Killer Girl

9. Soldiers Of God

10. Santa Clause Is A Lie

11. Dance Song

12. Will You Go

The Magnetico record “Songs About The World” had been locked in my storage memory for a while, the workload of promotions we receive each week can get…well a bit overwhelming, but I finally got around to putting down a few words about the group led by the very talented and astute guitar sensation Rafael Moreira who has appeared on CD & DVD releases with world renowned artists such as Don Felder (The Eagles), Steven Tyler (Aerosmith), Dave Navarro (Jane’s Addiction), Tommy Lee (Motley Crue), Stevie Wonder, Christina Aguilera, Enrique Iglesias, Marc Anthony amongst others. The varied styles he has covered and contributed his craft to certainly speaks volume about his versatility as a musician.

Moreira is not a stranger to the limelight as he has appeared on numerous late night tv shows and publications, amongst them The American Music Awards, both the U.S. and European MTV Video Music Awards, The 2009 ESPY Awards (ESPN), The MTV/VH-1 Fashion Awards, BBC Top of the Pops, BBC Live Sessions, Saturday Night Live, The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, The David Letterman Show, Late Night with Conan O’Brien, Jimmy Kimmel Live!, Good Morning America, Live with Regis and Kelly, The Ellen DeGeneres Show and a number of other major shows throughout Europe, Asia and Australia.

The music featured here is Modern Hard Rock with an interesting progressive  narrow approach alongside the striking vocals of Moreira and his sensible guitar playing. The resounding fresh sounds in “Invisible” strike a note as the crunchy riffs here make the track stand on its own. The dark brooding vibes of “Nothingness” carries the forefront then later giving give way for an intriguing guitar solo by Moreira showcasing what he can do on the fret. The strong high rising chorus and melodies of “Psychological Control” hold some water as the sound here reminds a bit of some of the harder progressive metal elements from Redemption’s later catalog. Some of the latter songs on the record like “Soldiers Of God” follow a more harder metal approach but still sounding refined and upfront creativally.

The main attraction here are the dark and progressive motions of Rafael Moreira who turns out a very distinct but modern era hard rock record. His vocals are underrated because he has a strong voice which he can apply to many types of styles and genres. I for once hope to see the guy singing more harder material on possible projects and as for this one goes is a solid and interesting trip into the mind of a very talented guitar/singer and songwriter. Listen to the samples and judge for yourself and give Magnetico a chance.

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys   7/10

Tell Us How You Feel