Album Reviews

Kens Dojo – Reincarnation

Released by Metal Heaven

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock



Line Up:

Ken Ingwersen

feat. Glenn Hughes (ex-Deep Purple), Ken Hensley (ex-Uriah Heep), Michael Eriksen (Circus Maximus), Nils K. Rue (Pagans Mind), Eirikur Hauksson (Artch), Tommy La Verdi (ex-21 Guns), Chesney Hawkes, Morty Black (ex-TNT), Aslak Johnsen (Mindtech), Truls Haugen (Circus Maximus), Ole Devold (Tritonus), EAR, Jon-Willy Rydningen (Dream Police)


01. Forever – (vocals Micheal Eriksen of Circus Maximus)

02. Keeping The Flame Alive (vocals Nils K. Rue of Pagan’s Mind)

03. I Surrender (vocals Glenn Hughes)

04. Reincarnation (vocals Chesney Hawkes)

05. Momentos A Solas

06. Demon In Diamonds (vocals Tommy La Verdi of 21 Guns)

07. Come Alive

08. El Recreo

09. Set This Angel Free

10. Rain

11. Playback Tape

This cool Melodic Rock project that I got recently came via Kens Dojo, a project band started by guitarist, producer and songwriter Ken Ingwersen hailing from Oslo Norway. You are probably wondering who this guy is? Well Ken runs a production company in Oslo called Oslo Recordings, a little plug for you Ken , also has played guitar for Ken Hensley (ex-Uriah Heep), GLAM and a party band called Loveshack and Glenn Hughes,  TNT, Rick Springfield, Dan Reed, Chesney Hawkes, Glam (Wig Wam), John Lawton, Jack In The Box, Return, and many more. I guess one of the advantaged of producing and being a musician is obviously the talent that you get to meet and in Norway there is plenty of that. Some of the names that contributed vocals on Kens Dojo debut album here we’re none other then the great Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple), Micheal Eriksen (Circus Maximus), Ken Hensley (Uriah Heep) and Nils K Rue (Pagan’s Mind) to name a few.

Right off the bat we have the treacherous guitar riffs of Ken leading the way on the track “Forever” vocally fronted by Micheal Eriksen who as we all know is a tremendous vocal talent. A powerful chorus here grips the listener from the beginning. What’s cool about the music here is that even though all lead vocalists have different styles, Ingwersen manages to match the music with each vocalists own strong point. For instance on “Keeping The Flame Alive” Nils K Rue of Pagan’s Mind applies his mysterious vocals to the track to add a flavor with a progressive mix. What led me to check out this project was the obvious contribution from Glenn Hughes and on the track “I Surrender” Hughes paves the way for an awesome vocal showcase which then follows with Kens savoring guitars screaming loudly. A little of the instrumental groove ignites “Reincarnation” with guest vocals here from Chesney Hawkes.

The album follows suit with a couple of instrumental numbers showcasing Ken’s guitar hero talent without showing out but rather providing a very subtle and soothing guitar lead. “Demon in Diamonds” is a hard rocker essential with guest vocals from Tommy La Verdi ex 21 Guns front man. The precision drumming here and again strong guitars precariously add a salty vibe to the track making it another essential listen.

The roots of hard rock are definitely retouched on a classic level on “Reincarnation” as Ken has stated he wanted to make a record more hard rock laden and with help from some big names and friends he’s managed to successfully put out one of the surprises of this year. The guitar’s are obviously a strong point on the record from top to bottom and with the vast of special vocal performances here adding their own groove to each track making Reincarnation a very enjoyable listen. I have to give props to Mattias Noren a well known digital graphic artists for the cover artwork here, very cool indeed. This is one of those cd’s that I could recommend easily to fans of Melodic Rock.

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys    7/10

Tell Us How You Feel