Album Reviews

Sebastien – Tears Of White Roses

Released By Escape Music

Release Date: November 19th, 2010

Genre: Hard Rock


Line Up:

George Rain – vocals, guitars

Andy Mons – guitars

Peter Forge – bass

Rob Vrsansky – keyboards

Radek Rain – drums

Special guests:

Amanda Somerville (Avantasia, Aina, Kiske/Somerville)

Apollo Papathanasio (Firewind, Spiritual Beggars)

Doogie White (Cornerstone, ex-Rainbow, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen)

Fabio Lione (Rhapsody Of Fire, Vision Divine)

Mike DiMeo (The Lizards, ex-Riot, ex-Masterplan)

Roland Grapow (Masterplan, ex-Helloween)

Tore Moren (Jorn)


01. Museé du Satan Rouge (with Tore Moren’s guitar solo)

02. Femme Fatale (with Amanda Somerville’s voice)

03. Dorian (with Fabio Lione’s and Roland Grapow’s voice)

04. Remiel In Flames

05. Tears Of White Roses (with Mike DiMeo’s voice)

06. Phoenix Rising (with Roland Grapow’s voice)

07. Voices In Your Heart (with Mike DiMeo’s voice and Roland Grapow’s guitar solo)

08. Fields Of Chlum (1866 A.D.) (with Fabio Lione’s voice)

09. Lake Of Dreams

10. Silver Water (with Apollo Papathanasio’s voice)

11. Black Rose – part I (with Doogie White’s voice)

12. Black Rose – part II (with Amanda Somerville’s voice)

Another project pack jammed with notable guest vocalists this time comes your way courtesy of Escape Music and lead by former Helloween Roland Grapow who produced the album as well. Grapow seems to be everywhere these days, earlier this year the new Masterplan was released after a long break. He always so much stuff going on but this one seemed like an interesting project to listen to, especially with the talent that contributed to the songs here.  If you know anything about Grapow you need when the does things he does it big usually involving heavy and loud guitars solos, powerful symphonic arrangements etc. This particular project involves such qualities.

The actual core here is composed of a Czech band formely known as NAVAR – Due to some line up changes a new band was born, known as SEBASTIEN. Promised by Grapow for a long time to help them record a new record they headed over to Grapow Studios where “Tears of White Roses” was recorded.

Well the sound here is pure symphonic arrangements mixed with heavy Hard Rock sound where each guest vocalist can contribute its own sound. The first track to gain my attention was “Dorian” with huge vocals from Fabio Lione (Vision Divine) as well as some more vocal help form Roland himself.  Mike Dimeo tears it up all by himself on the title track, a crushing thrash riff leads the way with a constant plunge of heavy rhythm engaging in one of the best tracks on this all star cast. I wasn’t sure what to think of the album at first, I get what they are trying to do, the excellent vocalists featured here do push the material more in your face and make you take notice. But the thing for me here is that mostly every song sounds the same, the crushing Masterplan speedy tempo rockers.  The guitar sound can also be linked to any of Grapow’s recent projects.

Make no mistake about it the sound is pure European Metal with explosive symphonic arrangements, if that’s your thing then I would suggest you check it out. The production quality is excellent as usual but for me there has been to much other material out there that measures up to the competition and this one might get lost in the ocean of quantity. Some parts seem more melancholy and dragging then others. It was a good idea that may have needed a little tuning for next time. Check out some samples before deciding if you want to get this one.

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys   7/10

Tell Us How You Feel