Album Reviews

Mark Wilkinson – Shadowplay Book Review

Released By Fantasmus-Art

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Hardcover: 192 Pages

Language: English

Link: http://markwilkinson.deviantart.com/

Links: http://www.the-masque.com/shad1.pdf

SHADOWPLAY is a recently released coffee table book that features a bit of a back story on renound album artwork guru MARK WILKINSON. Don’t worry too much if you don’t recognize the name, because I know for a fact that most of you reading this will have seen a few of his creations for yourself. His main client over the years has been prog rock legends MARILLION and he also worked with FISH after he left said band.

Though these two artists have the majority share of the book, which is quite fair when you realize that it was MARILLION that gave WILKINSON his first big break into the music market. There is also a collection of various artwork he has done for book covers, comics, gig posters and a few other assorted things, but it’s mainly about album artwork and includes high quality full color replications of some of the work he did for among others IRON MAIDEN, JUDAS PRIEST, THE DARKNESS, BLOODBOUND and HAWKWIND.

The book is quite large in size and as well as a hard cover also features very thick high quality pages and great ink work. As a MARILLION fan, I already have a lot of these pictures on CD sleeves and even a couple on LP sleeves, but it’s nice to have them represented here with a bit of a story on how the designs came about. Even though I said there is a bit of a back story running throughout the book, it is predominantly an art book and the words are minimal and very unobtrusive if you just want to see this magnificent art in all its glory.

I know this is a site about music, but I only hope that some of our readers can find room in their collection for what can only be described as one of the best album art books ever released and a true tribute to one the best artists in the field. Fans of MARILLION and FISH should really delve into this book as is does include some insights into what some of the more intricate album artwork represents. Very Highly Recommended!!!

Written by Zeezee

Ratings Zeezee   9/10

  • Hardcover: 192 pages

Tell Us How You Feel

Comments