Dio – At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987

ohh but it gets better Dio manages to incorporate some bits from "The Temple of the King" into one hell of a performance. I don't care how many times...

Released by: Niji Ent Group

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Heavy Metal

Links: http://www.ronniejamesdio.com/

Line Up:

Ronnie James Dio – Vocals

Vivian Campbell – Guitar

Craig Goldy – Guitar

Jimmy Bain – Bass

Vinny Appice – Drums

Claude Schnell – Keyboards


CD 1: 1983

01. Stand Up And Shout

02. Straight Through The Heart

03. Children Of The Sea

04. Rainbow In The Dark

05. Holy Diver

06. Drum Solo

07. Stargazer

08. Guitar Solo

09. Heaven And Hell

10. Man On The Silver Mountain

11. Starstruck

12. Man On The Silver Mountain (Reprise)

CD 2: 1987

01. Dream Evil

02. Neon Knights

03. Naked In The Rain

04. Rock And Roll Children

05. Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll

06. The Last In Line

07. Children Of The Sea

08. Holy Diver

09. Heaven And Hell

10. Man On The Silver Mountain

11. All The Fools Sailed Away

12. The Last In Line (Reprise)

13. Rainbow In The Dark

While the capitalization on Dio’s death when it comes to his music and the legacy he leaves behind is of no surprise to anybody. As we have discussed on past reviews for instance on the Heaven and Hell – Neon Knights DVD, there is some good quality recordings that you can trust to represent the artist and there’s some you absolutely will think is trash. One particular release that was issued by the group that Dio and his wife Wendy had created and is certainly not of poor quality. The Ninji foundation released recently the live retrospect highlights of Ronnie from his performances at Donington UK 1983 and his 1987 Masters of Rock festival.

It is to no body’s surprise to have discovered a live release from Dio as his performances we’re always on key and we all know there is nothing like listening to an artist live in it’s own environment. If it’s says Dio on it is usually something worth buying, but in this case if a special occasion to capture him in his prime and witness why the man became a metal icon. Not only is his wondrous voice in top shape, but Ronnie always knew how to pick the best guitar players around and bring on board. In these performances you have the very young Vivian Campbell and Craig Goldy in the 1987 live setting, Goldy which served a few stints through the years shows of his flashy guitar shredding style with superb entitltement.

Some much music to treasure here and you dig into a classic Dio staple from the “Holy Diver” record “Stand Up and Shout” which even in his later years concerts he would always feature. Of course all the classics are portrayed with emotional and brilliantly stage presence as only Ronnie and company could. “Holy Diver”, “Heaven and Hell” and “Man On The Silver Mountain” are all showcased powerfully. You get your daily dose of Rainbow classics when “Long Live Rock & Roll” a favorite of mine, which you can find on the CD 2 at Monsters of Rock Festival.

Vinny Appice’s powerful drumming has always been a staple of the Dio years with the history of both men going back to the Black Sabbath days. A nice and rare track in “Stargazer” gets some spotlight even if it’s broken down from it’s original studio cut, it was still nice to hear this killer track coming of the Rainbow “Rising” masterpiece. The master metal groove of “The Last In Line” still brings memories of the first time I heard that piece, just something so anonymous about that song, ohh but it gets better Dio manages to incorporate some bits from “The Temple of the King” into one hell of a performance. I don’t care how many times I hear “Heaven and Hell”, it gives it goosebumps every time I hear Ronnie raise his bear crushing voice into the sky.

You can pretty much say that thought about the whole 2 disc set, with a stout job of re mastering these classic Dio era live showcases which all it does its add more to an already legacy that will live on forever. I suspect more material will be release in the future from Niji and to all the army of Dio fans world wide I am glad that these approved recordings come from the people that knew him best. A great release to own for all Ronnie fans and a definite buy for those who never got a chance to experience him live. The legacy will never die and neither will these great treasured moments. Long Live Rock & Roll, Long Live Ronnie James Dio!!!!!!!!!!….

Written by Denys

Ratings Denys   9/10

Tell Us How You Feel


Album Reviews


Photo Credit: Daisy Robinson

Revolution Saints - "Eagle Flight" (Official Video) | Deen Castronovo, Jeff Pilson, Joel Hoekstra
  • Nevena – Nevena Review

    This is classy AOR of the highest order.
    December 7, 2022
  • Korrosive – Toxic Apokalypse Review

    What is going on over in Canada, eh? 2022 has been a fantastic year for Canuck rock and metal – here’s another to add to the list. This time...
    December 7, 2022
  • Tailgunner – ‘Crashdive’ EP Review

    Old school British metal given a fresh lick of lead paint and brought up to date by a fine production from Enforcer’s Olof Wikstrand. Hopefully, Tailgunner are going places...
    December 7, 2022
  • Disturbed – Divisive Review

    The ten songs were recorded last year in Nashville in collaboration with producer Drew Fulk. What you can notice is the relatively constant line-up which allows the band to...
    December 7, 2022
  • Drenalize – Edge of Tomorrow Review

    Nice album, although for some perhaps sounds a bit dated and cliché tingled, but it still is a great nostalgic trip down memory lane in the world of 80s...
    December 7, 2022
  • Solitude Within – When Kingdoms Fall Review

    Without a doubt, this is a band to check out a.s.a.p. if you’re a fan of the female-fronted symphonic melodic metal genre, and it wouldn’t surprise me if they...
    December 7, 2022