Album Reviews

Sarke – Aruagint Review


Released by: Indie Recordings

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Trash Metal/Black Metal



Line Up:

SARKE (Khold, Tulus), bass.

NOCTURNO CULTO (Darkthrone), vocal.

ASGEIR MICKELSON (Spiral Architect, God Of Atheists), drums.

ANDERS HUNSTAD (El Caco, Autopulver, Morten Abel), keyboard.

STEINAR GUNDERSEN (Satyricon, Spiral Architect, System: Obscure), guitar.



1. Jaunt of the Obsessed

2. Jodau Aura

3. Ugly

4. Strange Pungent Odyssey

5. Walls of Ru

6. Salvation

7. Skeleton Sand

8. Icon Usurper

9. Rabid Hunger


Super groups. Do they ever meet the impossible expectations imposed on them by fans when all the parts are added together and an album produced? Not really and to be fair to the bands its an impossible feat.

Sarke feature a line up of musicians who have played in the biggest black metal bands in Norway.

On this there third album there is a distinct effort taken to re-capture early Celtic Frost ‘’Morbid Tales’’ which they carry off well, Nocturno Culto is certainly on the money with the vocals. The music itself is mid-paced with some progressive flourishes, which sound like Tool in places. These elements don’t work here and don’t feel integral to the songs.

When they keep things stripped down it works best like on the track ‘’Ugly’’, Tom G Warrior vocals with a simply riff. It works. Later day Satyricon factors heavily into the riffs on the bulk of the album ,which occasionally nods to the members black metal motherland with the chiming riffs but jars with the vocals.

This project will not distract away from the member’s main bands but more a personal project among friends.


Written by Garry

Ratings    Garry    5/10


Tell Us How You Feel