Album Reviews

Vega – Stereo Messiah Review


Released by : Frontiers Records

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Melodic Rock




01. Stereo Messiah
02. All Or Nothing
03. Wherever We Are
04. Ballad Of The Broken Hearted
05. Gonna Need Some Love Tonight
06. The Fall
07. Neon Heart
08. With Both Hands
09. 10 x Bigger Than Love
10. My Anarchy
11. The Wild, The Weird, The Wond
12. Tears Never Dry


By definition, ‘Vega’ is one of the brightest stars in our solar system. Rather apt, you’d have to say, when talking of UK melodic rock sensation Vega. This extremely talented five-piece shine bright in the AOR galaxy, producing tracks that are light years ahead of many contemporary competitors. 2010’s stand out was ‘Kiss of life’ and ‘White Knuckle Ride’ packed a punch in 2013.

A year on and Stereo Messiah is no different.

Coming off the back of their previous release, What The Hell!, Vega have truly hit all of the right notes with what is arguably their best work to date. Known for their jaw-dropping vocals and memorable choruses, Vega are are unmistakably one of AOR’s current heavyweights. For those unfamiliar with Vega’s work, they have a had a hand in songwriting for bands and artists such as House of Lords and Danny Vaughn. Yeah, they mean business.

‘Stereo Messiah’ features none other than Joe Elliot on the radio friendly ’10 X Bigger Than Love’. Vega’s rework of this lesser-known Def Leppard track, originally recorded during the X sessions, has a revitalised feel that is fantastically infectious.

Already boasting two brilliant albums under their belt, Vega are no longer establishing an identity but rather expressing that identity in this latest release. The title track, ‘Stereo Messiah’  sets the tone for what is an incredibly strong album on all fronts. As an opener, it is a track that insists on being heard, and being heard played loudly at that.

While undoubtedly belonging to the melodic rock niche, Vega demonstrate an impressive versatility ranging from the powerful ‘Ballad of the Broken Hearted’ to the soulful ‘Tears Never Dry’ with tracks such as ‘Gonna Need Some Love Tonight’ and ‘With Both Hands’ dancing between the two.

A band that, since 2010’s phenomenal single ‘Kiss of Life’, has displayed a refreshing sensibility and an expertise in vocally powerful, hook-laden rock and roll, Vega are an absolute must for any fan of melodic rock.

We should all be disciples of the Stereo Messiah

For anyone interested in seeing Vega live in concert, they are supporting Joe Elliot’s Down ‘n’ Outz on the 17th of December at the Limelight in Belfast.  Tickets £19.50.


Written by Phil Bailie

Ratings    Phil    8/10

Tell Us How You Feel