Album Releases



Genre: Southern Hard Rock

Record Label: Roadrunner Records

Release Date: 26TH January 2015


Current Line-up:

  • Gary Rossington (1966 – Present)
  • Rickey Medlocke (1971 – Present)
  • Johnny Van Zant (1987 – Present)
  • Michael Cartellone (1999 – Present)
  • Mark Metejka (2006 – Present)
  • Peter Keys (2009 – Present)
  • Johnny Colt (2012 – Present)

Former members:

  • Ronnie Van Zant (1966 – 1977)
  • Allen Collins (1966 – 1979)
  • Bob Burns (1966 – 2006)
  • Larry Junstrom (1966 – 1970)
  • Kenny Aronoff (1999)
  • Gregg T. Walker (1971 – 1972)
  • Leon Wilkenson (1972 – 2001)
  • Billy Powell (1973 – 2009)
  • Ed King (1972 – 2006)
  • Artimus Pyle (1974 – 2006)
  • Steve Gianes (1976 – 1977)
  • Randall Hall (1987 – 1977)
  • Kurt Custer (1991 – 1994)
  • Mike Estes (1994 – 1996)
  • Owen Hale (1994 – 1998)
  • Hughie Thomasson (1996 – 2005)
  • Jeff McAllister (1998 – 1999)
  • Kenny Aronoff (1999)
  • Ean Evans (2000 filling in for Leon Wilkenson)
  • Robert Kearns (2009 – 2012)


Track listing

Disc 1

  • I aint the one
  • Tuesday’s gone
  • Gimme three steps
  • Simple man
  • Things goin’ on
  • Mississippi kid
  • Poison whiskey
  • Free bird

Disc 2

  • Gimme back my bullets
  • Every mothers son
  • Trust
  • I got the same old blues
  • Double trouble
  • Roll gypsy roll
  • Searching
  • Cry for the bad man
  • All I can do is write about it

Disc 3

  • Saturday night special
  • Cheatin’ woman
  • Railroad song
  • I’m a country boy
  • On the hunt
  • Am I losin’
  • Made in the shade
  • Whiskey Rock – A – Roller

Disc 4

  • Workin’ for MCA
  • I ain’t the one
  • Saturday night special
  • Searching
  • Travelin’ man
  • Simple man
  • Whiskey Rock – A – Roller
  • The needle and the spoon

Disc 5

  • Gimme three steps
  • Call me the breeze
  • T for Texas (Blue Yodel no.1)
  • Sweet Home Alabama
  • Crossroads
  • Free bird

Disc 6

  • Sweet Home Alabama
  • I need you
  • Don’t ask me no questions
  • Workin’ for MCA
  • The Ballad of Curtis Loew
  • Swamp Music
  • The needle and the spoon
  • Call me the breeze

Disc 7

  • What’s your name
  • That smell
  • One more time
  • I know a little
  • You got that night
  • I never dreamed
  • Honky Tonk night time man
  • Ain’t no good life



Lynyrd Skynyrd are now back for the very first time with the ultimate Vinyl Box set featuring all their incredible hits in a mixture of studio recordings and live EP’s guaranteed to satisfy any fan. Building their initial career on touring (particular stand out live performances being ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ and ‘Free Bird’) it seems only right that the live tracks from the album ‘One more on the road’ are included. This box set perfectly captures Lynyrd Skynyrd’s finest moments in Rock history giving fans a re-release of the songs with worldwide recognition.

This six album vinyl collection looks to gather the most creative four years Skynyrd had before their tragic plane crash in 1977 resulting in an unfortunate cutting of the bands very successful career. You could almost say this masterpiece is a tribute to members killed by the shocking accident. These been the late great Ronnie Van Zant, Steve Gaines and Cassie Gaines who were sadly robbed of their rock n roll dreams but always remembered.

Lynyrd Skynyrd’s story is one that will forever be reminisced and with the help from this box set fans can now capture the magic of the southern rockers when they were at their peak. Including classic album ‘Pronounced Leh- nerd skin- nerd’ on disc one you know straight away that what you’re getting is Skynyrd with that good old southern rock vibe. Covering such an epic era in Skynyrd’s history this vinyl box set proves to be a riveting piece of memorabilia.

This was a band that popularized the Southern Hard Rock genre and this box set made with music, pictures and all justifies why the latter statement is a true one.

The box set includes seven albums all of which tie together brilliantly allowing fans and anyone that comes across it to be aware just how fantastic Skynyrd’s lyrical and musical capabilities were. This box set is genius.

The stand out songs from this vinyl that seem to piece together perfectly the journey of this band include ‘Things going on’ from the first disc ‘Cry for the bad man’ featured on disc 2 which contains a very gritty guitar intro followed by classics such as ‘Railroad song’ and ‘Am I Losin’ taken from the album ‘Nuthin’ fancy’ (Disc 3) are just to name a few. With this you get every aspect of Skynyrd, country rockers and all.

If you’re after the standard and consistently played Lynyrd Skynyrd tracks then this box set may be a long shot for you as disc number 1 alone would suffice. However if you’re the ultimate fan and wish to have a hold of even the rarest of tracks and wish to remember why Skynyrd were the ultimate southern rock band right from the beginning of their career in the 60’s, then this vinyl beauty will prove to be a definite must for you.

Written by: Alex Alicia Firth



Tell Us How You Feel