Album Releases Album Reviews

Empire Of Fools – Devil Inside Review

Empire of Fools Album Art


Released by: Self Release

Release date: 22 September 2015

Genre: Rock/Hard Rock

Links: , Facebook



Mark Pascall – Vox, Guitar, Bass

Steve Cobbin- Guitar

Dean Stevens – Drums


Track Listing:

01. Down To Earth

02. Higher

03. Devil Inside

04. Dirty Mind

05. Hope

06. Unstoppable


EMPIRE OF FOOLS have established themselves as a dynamic live act and continue to “wow” audiences with their energetic pulsating powerful performances. The 3 piece melodic hard rock band from Devon UK latest offering is an Mini Album entitled Devil Inside this is just a taster of what the band have to offer,and there will be much more to come from these melodic rockers with all sorts of exciting things happening as they are currently being supported by “BBC Introducing” with radio airplay and live sessions.

Devil Inside was recorded by Romesh Dodangoda (Motorhead, The Blackout, Funeral for a friend) and captures the band’s huge potential,in a nutshell you will be hearing a lot more from these guys that is for sure.

The Devil Inside mini EP kicks off with a bluesy anthem rocker called Down To Earth. The more you listen the more catchy it becomes, great hooks. Higher continues in the same vein with a thunderous heavy edge that eases in and out throughout the track. We seem to be taken higher with this one. With more of a bridge than a solo, this leads us onto the title track. Devil Inside a little more aggressive in style and sound. The hooks are there, it just grabs you and gives you a shake just like having a lil devil inside. Dirty Mind is unsuspecting heart wrenching ballad ”wherever you run wherever you hide I’ll always be right inside your dirty mind”. Hope is the stadium anthem (think maybe U2 sort of sound in the 80’s) of the mini album, the track rumbles into life giving us Hope with more catchy chorus lines and a foot tapping feel. The album is rounded off with Unstoppable. It has heavy melodic chorus lines, wrapped in a catchy guitar fueled trip you just cant stop. I am sure the guys are on a winner no doubt we wait in anticipation for their full release.

Written by: Shane Bradley


Ratings: Shane 8/10

Tell Us How You Feel