Album Releases Album Reviews

Blackmore’s Night – All our Yesterdays Review




Release date: 10 August 2015


Links: ,


Line up:

Ritchie Blackmore – Electric/acoustic guitars, mandola, hurdy gurdy, nickelharpe

Candice Night – Vocals, chanter, cornamuse, shawms, rauschpfeife

Bard David of Larchmont – Keyboards

Earl Grey of Chimay – Bass and rhythm guitar

Lady Lynn – Harmony vocals, shawm, flute, recorder

Troubadour of Aberdeen on drums



01. All Our Yesterdays

02. Allan Yn N Fan

03. Darker Shade of Black

04. Long Long Time

05. Moonlight Shadow

06. I Got you Babe

07. The Other Side

08. Queens Lament

09. Where Are We Going From Here

10. Will O’ the Wisp

11. Earth Wind and Sky

12. Coming Home


All Our Yesterdays, the tenth studio album from folk rock band Blackmore’s Night introduces the listener to their distinctive sound with the title track which manifests the sounds of Singer Candices’ Russian origins. Although it’s a catchy folk tune it wouldn’t be the greatest opener in my opinion.

Things take an entirely different direction in the second track, the Welsh named Allan Yn N Fan which sounds more like a traditional Irish jig to me. This instrumental introduces electric guitar in its latter stages which works in fantastically and demonstrates great musical contrast.

Darker Shade of Black has some distinct similarities with Procol Harlems’ Whiter Shade of Pale but with much more diversity of instruments and changes of tempo, the obscure vocal harmonies fade away just over halfway through and the legend that is Ritchie Blackmore gives us a stunning albeit mellow electric guitar solo.

A beautiful version of Mike Oldfields Moonlight Shadow is carried off perfectly by Candice, who has a voice like an angel. The vocal arrangements are quite similar to Maggie Reillys’ on the original; however, the guitar riffs towards the end of the track are entirely different. Other personal highlights for me were the enchanting Will O’ the Wisp and the captivating ballad Earth, Wind and Sky.

Although certain elements of Fairport Convention can be heard throughout this eclectic mix of medieval, folk and soft rock it has a distinct sound that is incomparable to anything that emerged from the folk/folk-rock revival of the late 60s, some of it sounds older, some of it sounds newer but it’s definitely more eccentric. Much as it is to my liking, this style of music is sure to be an acquired taste. It makes for alternative easy listening with traditional folk medleys flowing gently into soft melodic ballads but the flaw in this album becomes apparent right in the middle. Track 6 is a cover version of Sonny and Chers’ I Got You Babe. While I wouldn’t be a massive fan of this song at the best of times, in no way, shape or form does it fit in this album, Its entirely out of place with the rest of the music – like a bad metaphor.

Diehard rock fans will probably never have been overly enamoured with this project of Ritchies’ and I doubt this latest release will feature anything to alter their opinions.

Whether this is to your taste or not there is no denying Ritchie Blackmores musical pedigree, his passion for the Renaissance style, Candice Blacks’ alluring vocals, the talent of the accompanying musicians and the inclusion of unconventional instruments that many will be unfamiliar with – all culminating in an exquisitely unique style. It’s definitely something different…

Written by: Karen Hetherington


Rating: Karen 9/10


Tell Us How You Feel