Live Gig Photos

Delain Live at the O2 Academy, Islington, London on 25th October 2015

Words by: Robert Sutton

Images by: Robert Sutton Photography (Facebook)


Courtesans are a four piece all female doom /rock / metal band who originate from London but consisting of members from Europe. They opened the evening with a six song setlist and soon found themselves getting a great response and applause from the audience. They were a great choice of band for the opening act.

The Gentle Storm is a Dutch musical project by singer and lyricist Anneke van Giersbergen and composer and musician Arien Lucassen, (although Arien does not perform at the live gigs) I have to say that I have never met a nicer and more friendly person on the heavy metal scene as Anneke who always, and I mean always, looks like she is having so much fun performing on the stage and is such a crowd pleaser. They gave a good strong performance with of a mix of their own material and that of a few covers. Closing the seven song set with the great ‘Shores of India’ song from their 2015 album ‘The Diary’.

Delain are a female fronted Dutch symphonic metal band that were formed in 2002 from two former members of Within Temptation. They have four studio albums to their name with the latest ‘Human Contradiction’ having been released in April last year. The last time I saw Delain they were a five piece band but have recently announced another guitarist ( Merel Bechtold) to their midst stating that ‘There’s no such thing as too many guitars’… The current tour is billed as the ‘Human Contradiction European tour 2015’ and they have just completed a four date tour of the UK leg ending in the sold out show at London’s O2 Academy Islington.

Fronted by the very talented Charlotte Wessels, who had a great custom microphone stand that lit up and changed colour throughout the set, opened the evenings performance with the song ‘Go Away’ from their 2009 album ‘April Rain’. They performed a super set with a total of seventeen songs, and it was a real joy to hear them play a full set as the headline act. The sold out event just proved how great this band has become and how deserving they are of the headline spot and now well on the path to getting bigger venues to play at in the near future. The new guitarist (Merel) fitted seamlessly into the band’s lineup but is dwarfed in size by both Otto and Timo, however she is certainly not dwarfed by them in the talent and enthusiasm that she brings to the band. We were also treated to a new song ‘Not Enough’ from a new album that was promised to be released next year. They finished the night with the exceptional and very emotional track ‘We are The Others’, which was written following the tragedy of Sophie Lancaster’s death.


1: Go Away

2: Get the Devil out of me.

3: Army of Dolls

4: Lullaby

5: Stardust

6: Milk and Honey

7: Here come the Vultures

8: April Rain

9: Sleepwalkers Dream

10: Don’t Let Go

11: Turn the Lights Out

12: Silhouette of a Dancer

13: The Gathering

14: Not Enough


15: Metal Machine

16: Stay Forever

17: We are the Others

Their new album ‘Human Contradiction’ is available to buy now. Follow them on:



Tell Us How You Feel