Album Releases Album Reviews News

Resurrection Kings – Resurrection Kings Review

Released by: Frontiers Records

Release Date: January 29th, 2016

Genre: Hard Rock



Chas West – vocals
Craig Goldy – guitars
Sean McNabb – bass guitar
Vinny Appice – drums


1. Distant Prayer
2. Livin’ Out Loud
3. Wash Away
4. Who Did You Run To
5. Fallin’ For You
6. Never Say Goodbye
7. Path Of Love
8. Had Enough
9. Don’t Have To Fight No More
10. Silent Wonder
11. What You Take


‘Ressurection Kings’ sees the long awaited return of former Dio Maestro guitarist ‘Craig Goldy’as he teams up with former Dio bandmate Vinny Appice and ex-Lynch Mob singer Chas West and former Dokken bassist Sean McNabb to form California based super group Resurrection Kings. The resulting album is a sublime slice of melodic hard rock which has a taste of Whitesnake, Dio, and Rainbow all while maintaining its very own status as a future rock classic.

Resurrection Kings is co written and produced by non other than Alessandro Del Vecchio who just has a knack of turning things to gold; not that this bunch of talented guys need help in that department exclusively, but it helps to have an in house producer who has experience working with super groups for the label.


As we slide into Track 1 ‘Distant Prayer‘ With a growl and wail the riffs blast us straight into a meltdown frenzy, as we raise aloft our devil horns to welcome back and hail the “Gold” one, with thudding drums and rumbling bass line we are carried along a chorus of powerful vocals and a sublime solo.

Track 2 ‘Livin’ Out Loud‘ with a bluesy Whitesnake, Purple, backdrop and a guitar riff straight from Dio this track has a plentiful mix of everything, with some excellent vocals from ‘Chas’ with a killer solo thrown in. Track 3′ Wash Away‘ A slightly slower tempo, with some great licks and riffs sandwiched between superb vocals and Vinny’s unmistakably drum beat, all gelled together and held up nicely with a great bass line.

Track 4’ Who Do You Run To‘ A killer guitar riff that flows throughout the track, backed up by superb vocals once more from ‘Chas’ a real catchy toe tapping sing along chorus “Somebody Wake Me Up I’m Dreaming”

Track 5 ‘Fallin For You‘ Some great keys (I can only assume from the great man ‘Ale’himself) leads us nicely into a slower tempo with a great bass line and superb solo the vocals once more are excellent all held together by magnificent rhythm and timing.

Track 6 ‘Never Say Goodbye‘ comes to us just like an eighties power ballad, with some soulful vocals accompanied once more by Craig’s wizardry on the fret board; its a future classic in the making. Track 7 ‘Path Of Love‘ A change of beat and tempo for this track a more bluesy feel, with crazy licks and chops a plenty and a superb solo as ‘Craig’ really showcases his talent on this one.

Track 8 ‘Had Enough‘ With just a hint of early Malmsteen, and a catchy chorus line, this is certainly gonna leave you screaming for more as you raise aloft devil horns and scream ‘I’ve Had Enough’ no I haven’t really I want more much more!!! Track 9 ‘Don’t Have To Fight No More‘ A real rocker from start to finish, with a thudding bass line and powerful vocals with just a hint of early Whitesnake, with yet another killer solo.

Track 10 ‘Silent Wonder‘ with a foot tapping beat and roaring guitar this track is anything but silent, with riffs and chops throughout, a big bass line added to a meaty drumbeat. Track 11 ‘What You Take‘ The closer continues in the same vein, with meaty hooks and chops mixed with great vocals and a mighty rhythm section, not too mention a killer solo it leaves you waiting and wanting more.

Overall ‘Resurrection Kings‘ not only sees the return of guitar maestro Craig Goldy, but it also kicks some serious ass. It is extremely well put together from the writing to production to delivery It’s an absolute must for all rockers out there.


Written by: Shane Bradley

Ratings: Shane  10/10

Tell Us How You Feel