Album Releases Album Reviews

Vega – Who We Are review & 2016 tour dates

Released By: Frontiers Music Srl
Released: 13th May 2016
Genre: Melodic Rock

Line Up

Nick Workman, Lead Vocals,
Tom Martin, Guitars,
Dan Chantrey, Drums,
James Martin, Keyboards,
Marcus Thurston, Guitars,

Track List.

We Got It All
Every Little Monster
Nothing Is Forever
White Flag
For Our Sins
Generation Now
Savin Grace
If Not You
Hurts So Bad

My first taste of Vega came in Dublin in the Christmas of 2014,playing support to Joe Elliots Down n Outz.They had the gross misfortune to sell their wares in front of a paltry and unresponsive  crowd of about one hundred people.At one point lead vocalist Nick Workman took matters into his own hands by doing a couple of laps of The Academy to try an ignite an atmosphere.Sadly that went down like a pork pie in a kibbutz.

But not deterred in the slightest,they still ground out a serious shift,pumping out tracks from their three critically acclaimed albums.

That exuberant live vibe rears it’s head all over this album, especially on opener Explode.A perfectly penned shot of thoroughbred AOR with a heavyweight driving rhythm.

We Got It All takes the bite out of the album way too early.Nevertheless this pop drenched tune displays a versatile and mature side to the bands writing,and is ready made to hold it’s own on mainstream radio.

They make no secret of a heavy Def Leppard influence on Every Little Monster.And having a legend like Joe Elliot in your corner won’t do them any harm at all.The Sheffield man penned the brilliant ’10 X Bigger Than Love’ off 2014’s ‘Stereo Messiah’ and his association with the band maybe one of the reasons why this record is more creatively diverse and flowing in confidence compared to their three previous outings.

As power ballads go,Nothing Is Forever is the motherload. It may be overproduced to within an inch of it’s life but after the beautiful haunting intro and full bodied Queen flavoured chorus,you wouldn’t want it any other way.

For Our Sins see’s them really starting to flex their melodic rock muscles.Nick Workman’s majestic vocals don’t put a foot wrong here,and although he has four immensely talented musicians behind him, it’s the Warwickshire man’s pristine pipes that really put a stamp of class on the bands music.

The teeth baring ‘Generation Now’ is without doubt one of the flag waving tracks on the album. It may be top heavy in predictability,but the perfectly manicured guitars and slick invigorating chorus hit the spot immediately.

They take things up several levels with the thundering epic Ignite and rampant arena rocker ‘Savin Grace’. And if there was a smattering of justice left in music today, it’s tracks of this calibre that would catapult them to a greater standing.

That’s reaffirmed with closing track ‘Hurts So Bad’, a song old neon chops, Jon Bon Jovi, will wish he could still write today.

Vega have gone for the throat on this album.

An Absolute killer.

Review: Brian Boyle

Rating: 10/10

VEGA are on tour right now: 

13.05.16 LONDON – Islington Assembly Hall
14.05.16 OXFORD – O2 Academy
16.05.16 NORWICH – Waterfront
17.05.16 NOTTINGHAM – Rock City
19.05.16 BIRMINGHAM – Institute
20.05.16 HOLMFIRTH – Picturedrome
21.05.16 MANCHESTER – O2 Academy 2
22.05.16 NEWCASTLE – O2 Academy
24.05.16 ABERDEEN – Garage
25.05.16 GLASGOW – Garage
27.05.16 BELFAST – Limelight
28.05.16 LONDON – Islington O2 Academy (HEADLINING) 
29.05.16 BRISTOL – O2 Academy
30.05.16 LEAMINGTON SPA – Assembly Rooms
VEGA will also play at the Steelhouse Festival in Ebbw Vale on 23rd July.
‘White Flag’ video :
‘We Got It All’ audio :
‘Every Little Monster’ lyric video :

Tell Us How You Feel