Album Releases Album Reviews News

Jorn – Heavy Rock Radio Review

Released by: Frontiers Records

Release Date: June 3rd, 2016

Genre: Heavy Metal



Line Up:

Jorn Lande: Vocals
Trond Holter: Guitar
Francesco Iovino: Drums
Thomas Bekkevold: Bass
Alessandro Del Vecchio: Keyboards



01. I Know There’s Something Going On
02. Running Up That Hill
03. Rev On The Red Line
04. You’re The Voice
05. Live To Win
06. Don’t Stop Believin’
07. Killer Queen
08. Hotel California
09. Rainbow In The Dark
10. The Final Frontier
11. Stormbringer
12. Die Young


After downloading some decidedly dodgy rock band that had covered classics by accident onto my iphone (yes I had had a tipple or three) and also having had it drummed into me, albeit subconsciously, by the rock fraternity that somehow it just was not ‘metal cool’ to make an album of covers, I approached this new project by Jorn with some trepidation.

My nervousness grew slightly when I read the listing of tunes such as ‘Killer Queen’ but then tapered out into a grudging respect when my eye fell on ‘Running Up That Hill’ …. To give your own twist on these classics are both brave but possibly also foolhardy?  And so reaching out to my headphones … my adventure with Jorn begins.

The 40 years plus worth of rock/metal vocal experience bursts out with ecstasy on ‘I Know There’s Something Going’ … which was originally a hit for Frida from ABBA … the Nordic connection works well and contributes a rock song of perfection in its own right.  Ok … this could be good!!!  Respect is starting to take over… next …

Kate Bush, who I spent much of my childhood impersonating in the school playground, I think would appreciate this version of her mesmerizingly painful song.  Jorn manages to twist the notes and use guitar to great effect to establish a more positive uplifting vibe … but don’t be misled, these songs are heavy, not just replicated into rock pop.

With ‘Rev On The Redline’ the late 70’s/ early 80’s tone is kept with the synth in the back ground, but the absolute depth, especially with the bass, to the sound is much heavier.

‘Don’t Stop Believing’ … has always been one of my guilty pleasures .. yes I know it was in GLEE .. blah blah blah, but this girl can’t help it!  Jorn has used his vocal cords just to give it that heavy edge and to bring it up to date.  Instrumentally these guys have excelled with this old favourite.

‘Rainbow In the Dark’ opens superbly with that famous riff and Jorn’s voice fits perfectly with Dio’s masterpiece.  And other classics such as ‘Stormbringer’ and the ‘Final Frontier’ are dealt with masterfully both with the explosive guitar, drums and bass and vocally.

The track that is most close to the original is ‘Killer Queen’ … this along with ‘Hotel California’ appealed to my kitsch side, I felt like I should have hated both of these but actually the more I listened to them, the more I liked them. ‘Hotel California’ especially is very visual I always think, and this just turned those mental pictures of that demonic Premier Inn up a notch ….with a row of lowrider Harley Davidsons parked outside…. Yep it rocks!

This album is perfect for those that loved all the tracks by the original artists, but also offers the opportunity to others to begin to love them as rock songs.  To be honest I would never have chosen to listen to Frida or Foreigners ‘Rev On The Redline’ … but enjoyed them immensely with Jorn’s spin on them.

I would give this 8 out of 10 for balls and ultimate delivery !!  Nice one Jorn !


Written by: Francijn Suermondt

Ratings: Francijn  8/10

Tell Us How You Feel



2 thoughts on “Jorn – Heavy Rock Radio Review

  1. nice review. have it pre-ordered and picked up the 4 available MP3s sos far. JORN can do no wrong.


Comments are closed.