Album Reviews News

Steven Tyler’s “We’re All Somebody From Somewhere” Album Review

Genre: Country Rock/Easy Listening
Released by: Dot Records
Release date: July 15  2016

1.“My Own Worst Enemy”
2. “We’re All Somebody From Somewhere”
3. “Hold On (Won’t Let Go)”
4. “It Ain’t Easy”
5. “Love Is Your Name”
6. “I Make My Own Sunshine”
7. “Gypsy Girl”
8. “Somebody New”
9. “Only Heaven”
10. “The Good, The Bad, The Ugly & Me”
11. “RED, WHITE & YOU”
12. “Sweet Louisiana“
13. “What Am I Doin’ Right?”
14. “Janie’s Got A Gun”
15. “Piece Of My Heart”

Rock icon and legend Steven Tyler Releases his Debut solo album ‘We’re All Somebody From Somewhere’ this July 15 and while Steven himself calls it a country album it edges more towards an easy listening almost pop-tastic, classic rock afternoon tea party layered with a slice of country pie.

‘We’re All Somebody From Somewhere’ is produced by Steven Tyler, T Bone Burnett, Dann Huff, Marti Frederickson and The Cadillac Three’s Jaren Johnston.

steve Album Article Framed

While there are stand out classic rock fuelled tracks as ‘Red White And You’ ‘The Good The Bad The Ugly And Me’ tongue-in- cheek lyrics in the former such as ‘You pulling me a little bit closer, Heart beating like a big bass drum We spinning’ on a roller coaster, A “Free Fallin'” into your yum yum’.

The album is ballad heavy with some future classics none more so than album opener ‘My Own Worst Enemy’ which is a song most could relate too, with lyrics like ‘I could blame Jesus, I could blame momma I could blame Brahma for all the bull that’s in my head I could blame Seagram’s for all the whiskey And for the tipsy that’s still here on my breath And ain’t that why you left ‘

Love Is Your Name Single

‘Love Is Your Name’ and ‘I Make My Own Sunshine’ are happy go lucky sunshine and sandals songs that make you want to kick back and relax with a cold one. Once you get past the latter’s almost cheesy supermarket tv advert kind of intro you can start to make your own sunshine, and it turns out to be a good foot tapping little number.

‘Gypsy Girl’ ‘It Aint Easy’ ‘Only Heaven’ and ‘What Am I Doin Right’ are the most classic Aerosmith’ esque ballads, each have the ability to make you laugh, smile and cry as you would expect from the song writing of Steven Tyler over the years it has done just that.

There is room for two covers, a solid version of a well-travelled and covered ‘Piece Of My Heart’ and Aerosmith’s own ‘Janie’s Got A Gun’ the latter being a slowed down version that seems to give it a much darker edge than the original, which makes the lyrical content stand out and hit the right spot.

‘We’re All Somebody From Somewhere’ is a very strong album, with great lyrical content and great harmonies, while perhaps not appealing to the hard rock fans ‘Aerosmith’ and ‘Tyler’ are synonymous with, it is what it is and that is a very solid easy listening album.

Reviewer: Shane Bradley

Rating: 9/10

Steven Tyler Facebook



Tell Us How You Feel