Album Reviews

The Texas Flood – Overworked & Underpaid Review

Released by: Off Yer Rocka

Release Date: Out Now

Genre: Hard Rock



Ben Govier: Bass, Vocals, Keys

Tom ‘Sawyer’ Bradford: Vocals, Guitar

Tom Williams: Drums, Vocals


01. Roses
02. Treading Water
03. Gambling Man
04. Forget About You
05. Up in Smoke
06. Shoot Me Down
07. I’m So Over
08. Ain’t No Cowboy
09. Shake That
10. Hero
11. Lucky
12. Reason to Run

When you first hear The Texas Flood, they will instantly remind you of bands such as The Black Crowes and Blackberry Smoke. A comparison that is not made lightly. However; choosing the band’s name was a bold move. The name conjures the spectre of Stevie Ray Vaughan and leaves the band with a lot to live up to. With their album, “Overworked & Underpaid”, this trio from Southern Wales has produced a tight hard rock album that has the making of an instant classic. Vocalist and drummer Tom Williams state, “is a continuation of The Texas Flood sound but it’s a more mature album.”

Overworked & Underpaid is a statement about the struggles of life on the road. With Williams admitting that “It’s a conversation that crops up all the time: Can we do it? We always have to pull in favours to keep things going but we’re not alone. It’s hard work. But if we want The Texas Flood to make its mark then it has to be done. The dream is to do this full time and full on. But dreams don’t pay the bills.”

A hard-working band, the chemistry created by their fight for recognition shines through in the infectious quality of their music. With a natural, smoky blues styling, backed by the raw energy of their hard rock chops, and southern rock riffs, The Texas Flood has created something special. The album is like a homage to their musical influences.

The opening track “Roses” really shows off the talents of the band. Every instrument focused and precise. Without a single lick or beat taking emphasis. Driven by a funky bassline, scorching guitar, and deeply percussive drums, it states that this is a band of equals. This sets the stage for track after track of quality songs which will make you want to get out of your seat and dance.

“Treading Water,” and “Shake That” feature a flawless blend of British blues and American southern rock elements. “Gambling Man”, “Up In Smoke”, and “Ain’t No Cowboy” present pure southern rock that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Lynyrd Skynyrd album.

“Forget About You”, “Shoot Me Down”, “I’m So Over”, and “Lucky” are catchy good old-fashioned rock ‘n roll songs that you could argue take their cues from classic bluesy offerings by the Rolling Stones. “Hero” plays like a love-letter to SRV with Tom ‘Sawyer’ Bradford’s scorching guitar riffs harkening back to the Double Trouble frontman, before breaking down into a positively funky middle section driven by the brilliant bass musicianship of Ben Grovier.

Final track “Reason to Run” is a stadium rock song. For me, it is the stand-out track on the album. It pulls together all the elements of their influences and distils it into what can only be called The Texas Flood sound. This track feels like the culmination of everything that has come before it. And hints at what is yet to come from this developing band. It leaves you wanting for more, just as it should. When The Texas Flood takes this album to the road, these songs will sound great live. And Williams agrees, stating the album is, “a little bit different in places and it has some nice big hooks. It is made for the live arena – and that’s where we intend to take it.” A fine addition to the new wave of British classic rock, Overworked & Underpaid is an excellent album, but it loses points on originality.

Written by: Erik De’Viking

Ratings: 8/10

Tell Us How You Feel