The Treatment ‘Power Crazy’ Review

The Treatment are back with their fourth studio album, Power Crazy, which has all the pomp and swagger of a classic AC/DC or Foreigner album. This is a wonderfully...

Released by: Frontiers Records s.l.r.

Release Date: 22nd March 2019

Genre: Hard Rock

Links:  FacebookTwitterYoutube


Tom Rampton – Vocals

Tagore Grey – Guitar

Tao Grey – Guitar

Dhani Mansworth – Drums

Rick ‘Swoggle’ Newman – Bass


  1. Let’s Get Dirty
  2. Rising Power
  3. On The Money
  4. Bite Back
  5. Luck Of The Draw
  6. Hang Them High
  7. Scar With Her Name
  8. King Of The City
  9. Waiting For The Call
  10. Laying It Down
  11. The Fighting Song
  12. Falling Down
  13. Bite Back (Acoustic) (Bonus Track Physical)

The Treatment are back with their fourth studio album, Power Crazy, and it would be an understatement to say that this is their best album to date. The Cambridge band has matured, and developed their own sound which will establish them as one of the premier bands of the British New Wave of Classic Rock (NWoCR) movement. Founded in 2008 by drummer Dhani Mansworth, the band has gone through a few lineup changes over the years. With Power Crazy, we see the departure of Mitchel Emms, and Tom Rampton stepping up to the role of vocalist. With a voice that’s equal parts Bon Scott and Lou Gramm, Rampton takes centre stage as the new frontman and lifts The Treatment into an entirely new league. Discussing the new album, the band stated, “We believe this record is a strong statement from the band, and we look forward to play the new songs live. We will be touring throughout 2019, and we can’t wait to see all you Treatment Troops at our shows!”

Opening with ‘Let’s Get Dirty’ the band makes it clear that this is going to be one hell of a ride, with this catchy blues-rocker. From the first riff, you will be hooked and tapping along with the rhythm. Marking the first time we are introduced to Rampton’s vocal prowess, his raspy voice just wails over the track like a rock god of yesteryear.

From there the album really opens up with ‘Rising Power’,  with its attitude fuelled track which is full of energy and adrenaline, and ‘On The Money’, with its smoky blues groove that will make you want to dance about the place. Moving onto ‘Bite Back’, this hard rocker is going to sound great on the radio.

‘Luck of the Draw’ slows down the hard rock train and settles into a classic blues beat that segues into the blistering ‘Hang Them High’ with its unbelievable wall of sound. This is a stadium rocker to be sure.

Rounding off the album are ‘Scar With Her Name’, ‘King Of The City’, ‘Waiting For The Call’, ‘Laying It Down’, and ‘The Fighting Song’. These tracks, like the rest of the album exude a vibrancy to it that make you want to listen to this album on repeat end-to-end. All of these songs will translate well to the live arena, and are bound to be crowd pleasers which will become band classics for years to come. Those of you who are lucky enough to have a physical copy with the bonus acoustic version of ‘Bite Back’ are in for a real treat. This stripped back, Delta-blues inspired take on the song really shows off the quality musicianship of the band, and allows Rampton’s vocals to shine.  I’ve always felt that a song should stand on its own with just a vocal and a guitar. This acoustic version certainly lives up to that challenge, and shows off the quality of the song-writing on Power Crazy.

With all the pomp, swagger, and power of a classic AC/DC or Foreigner album, Power Crazy is a wonderfully crafted album. Featuring an incredibly tight and beautifully executed recording with superb production values, Power Crazy has to be one of the best British releases of 2019 to date. With this release, The Treatment have raised the bar for NWoCR, and thrust themselves into the cream of the crop. If you’re looking for a true hard rock album in the vein of Bon Scott era AC/DC, Lou Gramm era Foreigner, Rose Tattoo, Graham Bonnet, or modern bands like Buckcherry or Airbourne, then you will not be disappointed by Power Crazy.

Ratings: 10/10

Written by: Erik De’Viking

My Global Mind – UK Editor

Erik De’Viking is a London based freelance music journalist. His musical interests include music in all its forms, and he is constantly on the lookout for new bands and genres to discover and later preach about to the masses.

Socials: TwitterInstagramLast.FMSpotify

Tell Us How You Feel


Album ReleasesAlbum ReviewsCD Releases
Lamb of God Live At Bloodstock Open Air 2022
Lamb of God Live At Bloodstock Open Air 2022

Lamb of God Live At Bloodstock Open Air 2022

Photo Credit: Adrian Hextall

Stryper - "Transgressor" - Official Music Video