Album Releases Album Reviews CD Releases


Released by Metal Blade Records

Release date: Out Now!

Genre: Thrash Metal



  1. Fed To Sharks
  2. The Garotte
  3. B.T.B (Beyond The Blade)
  4. Ghastly Waves & Battered Graves
  5. Dewer’s Hollow
  6. Tyrantula
  7. Stainless Glare
  8. Murderous Militia
  9. Killer On The Loose


  • L. Steeler – Vocals
  • S. Genozider – Guitars
  • M. Outlaw – Guitars
  • A. Axentictör – Bass
  • G. Deceiver – Drums

Two years after their debut album “The Guillotine”, German speed metal band Vulture are ready to get to their next step with Metal Blade Records. Their new full-length entitled “Ghastly Waves & Battered Graves” includes eight new tracks mostly inspired by horror movies and book stories. With this new record, the teutonic quintet stays loyal to their sound, an oldschool thrash metal mostly influenced  by the early days of legendary bands of the genre. The band members have used all their energy and passion for the heavy metal music in order to provide a decent sequel of their debut album and it seems that they have succeeded on their purpose.

Despite the line-up change with the addition of G. Deceiver at the drumming compartment, Vulture manage to give the impression of a compact and mature band with a special devotion on the classic metal sound. An impressive opening to the new record is given by “Fed To Sharks” with a great drum intro, aggressive riffs and the incisive voice of L. Steeler. There is a strong Exciter and Mercyful Fate influence on this track and the major part of the album keeps the same formula, but recipe seems to be less successful at times. There are some highlights like “B.T.B (Beyond The Blade)”, “Dewer’s Hollow”, and “Tarantyla”, but on the other hand there are some weaker points and unfortunately one of them is the title track. Moreover, the same considerations could be made for the song that follows the title track “The Garotte” and also “Stainless Glare”. Fortunately, the last part of the album gives a better impression to the listener with the single “Murderous Militia” and the Thin Lizzy cover “Killer On The Loose”.

Overall, this is a good quality speed metal record which leaves the listener with a pleasant feeling,  even though there is no sign of innovation and original ideas in the songs. Vulture are a group of talented musicians with the best intentions to improve themselves in every album release. With “Ghastly Waves & Battered Graves”, the German thrashers have managed to get to the next level, for what songwriting and production is concerned. Maybe more experience is necessary in order to create memorable music that would not be defined as material influenced by the great representatives of thrash metal. In that way, songs become monotonous and forgettable. In the end, Vulture seems to have a big possibility to reach the goal of bigger success in the near future.

Ratings: 6/10

Written by: Katerina Paisoglou

My Global Mind – Staff Writer

Tell Us How You Feel