Album Reviews

Michael Schenker Fest – Revelation Review

Released by Nuclear Blast Records

Release Date: August 23rd, 2019

Genre: Hard Rock


Line Up:

Michael Schenker – Guitars, Vocals

Robin McAuley – Vocals

Gary Barden – Vocals

Graham Bonnet – Vocals

Doogie White – Vocals

Steve Mann – Guitar, Keyboards

Chris Glen – Bass

Bodo Schopf – Drums

Simon Phillips – Drums



1. Rock Steady

2. Under A Blood Red Sky

3. Silent Again

4. Sleeping With The Light On

5. The Beast In The Shadows

6. Behind The Smile

7. Crazy Daze

8. Lead You Astray

9. We Are The Voice

10. Headed For The Sun

11. Old Man

12. Still In The Fight

13. Ascension


Michael’s Schenker Fest is an idea that was born on stage and in the end, has evolved in a very successful studio project. Michael Schenker, one of the most gifted and influential guitar heroes of all time returns with his latest and innovative band which features four of the singers with whom he has worked in the last forty years.

After their amazing debut with “Resurrection”, the road leads them to “Revelation”, a collection of thirteen fresh songs written by the German guitarist and composer. The guitar phenomenon has created a new record where he put all his love and passion for music in the same way as he has done since 1970 when his career took off at the age of fifteen. The title and the cover photo of the new record consist of a complete illustration of the musical life of the legendary artist. Music is a way of self-expression and Michael Schenker knows how to reveal his own emotions with every single note of his songs. Following the steps of the debut record, “Revelation” features every singer in individual tracks except three, where all four of them traded lead vocals.

Because of Ted McKenna’s sad passing, the drum parts were recorded by Simon Phillips and Bodo Schopf, all of the musicians which have worked with Michael Schenker in the past. Every tune of this album has its character and there are lots of positive vibes, just like “Resurrection”.

The opening rock anthem “Rock Steady” gives a mid-tempo kick-off to the record by narrating the story of “the boy who became a rock star with a guitar in his hand”. It’s time to become faster and louder: “Under A Blood Red Sky” and “Silent Again” brings up the powerful interpretations of Doogie White and Robin McAuley respectively in a perfect combination with the energetic guitar riffs and melodies of the German axeman. The mid-tempo catchy hook line of “Sleeping With The Light On” could be one of the highest moments of the album, followed by the atmospheric melody of “The Beast In The Shadows” with Graham Bonnet at his best. There is also a groovier sound in “Behind The Smile” and a keyboards’ rock n’ roll based melody in “ Crazy Daze”. After “Leaving You Ashtray” with the killer ending guitar solo, the all-star singing team is joined by another charismatic member: the raw vocals of Chilean Ronnie Romero (Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, Lords Of Black) bring the high energetic “We Are The Voice” to an even major celebrating level. Powerful and optimistic emotions come out from the melodies of “Headed For The Sun” while Gary Barden declares that he “Never Looks Behind”.

The young boy has become an “Old Man” and the story goes on with this emotionally powerful rock ballad, but soon enough the rhythm accelerates again with “Still In The Fight”. The best is yet to come: “Ascension”, a high speed instrumental which brings back the memories of “Into The Arena” era in an energizing closure of the record featuring what Michael Schenker knows best – shredding.

“Revelation” is the evolution of the debut album of a project which combines all the previous lineups of Michael Schenker’s solo career. Every musician and singer has contributed with his personality and groove to the new material and the result is a very powerful record, full of amazing emotional melodies and lyrics which will conquer the listener from the very first moment. “Resurrection” and “Revolution” are two pieces of a celebration of rock music that should be included in every fan’s music collection.


Ratings: 9/10

Written by: Katerina Paisoglou

My Global Mind – Staff Writer


Tell Us How You Feel