Album Reviews

Rage of Angels – Dreamworld Review


Released by: Escape Music

Release Date: February 2nd, 2013

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock



Line Up:

Ged Rylands: All guitars, keyboards and backing vocals

Additional Guitars: Martin Kronlud

Drums: Pera Johanssen

Bass: Michael Carlsson



1. Dreamworld (vocals: Matti Alfonzetti (Impera, Red White and Blues, Jagged Edge), Lead

guitar: Neil Fraser (Ten)

2. See You Walking By (vocals: Harry Hess (Harem Scarem ), Lead guitar: Neil Fraser (Ten)

3. Through It All (vocals: Robert Hart (Bad Company), Lead guitar: Neil Fraser (Ten)

4. Over and Over (vocals: Danny Vaughn (Tyketto), Lead guitar: Neil Fraser (Ten)

5. Prelude for the Gods (instrumental)

6. Falling (vocals: Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear), Lead guitar: Neil Fraser (Ten)

7. The Beating of Your Heart (Vocals: David Reed Watson, lead guitar: Tommy Denander)

8. Spinnin Wheel (vocals: Danny Vaughn (Tyketto), Lead guitar: Neil Fraser (Ten)

9. Requiem for the Forgotten Soldier (lead guitars: Ralph Santolla (Deicide,Obituary, Iced Earth)

Martin Kronlud (Lover Under Cover, Reece Kronlud), Vinny Burns (Ten, Asia, Ultravox), Xander Demos.

10. We Live, We Breathe, We Die (vocals: Robert Hart (Bad Company), lead guitar: Vinny Burns

(Ten, Asia, Ultravox)


You gotta love it when a team of super players come together!!!

Ged Rylands who was the original keyboardist for the UK Melodic Rockers TEN and played with them on the first three studio albums is back with his own band named Rage of Angels. I have to honestly say that I was not really awed by the artwork for this promo when it came my inbox thinking it was some cheese AOR, but I have to say after hearing it a few times I was taken of guard a bit and again proven not to judge a book by it’s cover. Not because Ged is not a terrific musician, but rather the guest vocalists, concept, songwriting and everything else really comes together here. It seems like ROA and their self title “Dreamworld” was years in the making, After TEN, Rylands took some time off the scene but kept on writing and a bulk of these songs are the fruit this process.

As mentioned earlier the slew of talent featured here is a must listen, so let’s get to the guest vocalists who lend a hand starting with the terrific vocals of Matti Alfonzetti who can be recently found on the Impera album as well, he makes a quick guest job on the title track which plows consistently with melodic hooks everywhere. Next we are treated with “See You Walking By” more stylized melodic rock riff which leads way for Harry Hess the former Harem Scarem front man to lend his hand this time around on vocals, good smooth intro, a pretty solid melodic rocker with some more tight guitar work. Proving that old rockers don’t quiet easily, Robert Hart former Bad Company and current singer of Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, does a bang up job on vocals on the harder groove of “Through It All”.

Ged Rylands recently joined the Tyketto touring band and for more special guests he asked the front man from Tyketto, the great Danny Vaughn to lend his vocals here, well he succeeded with more super melodic cuts, a stronger AOR vibe delivers outright on “Over and Over”. One of the strongest tracks featured here come via “Falling” an air of past TEN records come to mind, a bit of progressive vibes and those majestic keys add an interesting rhythm with a master keys to guitar solos courtesy of both Ryland and former TEN guitar player Neil Fraser, an added plus on top of the vocals of Primal Fear powerhouse vocalist Ralf Scheepers. Next tune is another highlight courtesy of the vocals of David Reed Watson and Mr versatility Tommy Denander soaring chords. By the way keep your ears peeled for Watson someone with alot of talent who you may be hearing  from more in the future.

Not your typical trademark that we come accustomed too for Melodic Rock albums; the songs on Dreamworld are particularly long most clocking in over 6 minutes,  only ten total tracks but it seems like the musicianship takes over, guitars and drums just generate an extra kick towards the end of these tunes, making it variable and different, nice for a change it breathes a new sense of epicness to them I suppose. All different guest guitar players from Rylands himself, to Martin Kronlud to Fraser add a nice flavor to the overall sound, the production is sharp and worthwhile,  Rylands has delivered as a major first release a must for fans of Melodic Hard Rock and AOR. Keep in mind there is a bit of surprises on each song due to the guest vocalists adding their own style, something I quite enjoyed. Check Rage of Angels out otherwise it’s a release that may go down under the radar you know?


Written by Denys

Ratings    Denys    8/10

Tell Us How You Feel