Corrosion Of Conformity – No Cross No Crown Review

this album is all killer and no filler. But it's absolutely true for this one, they are back with a vengeance. Each time we listen to this, a different...

Released by: Corrosion Of Conformity

Release Date: January 12, 2018

Genre: Stoner Rock




Guitar/ Vocals: Pepper Keenan
Bass: Mike Dean
Drums: Reed Mullin
Guitar : Woody Weatherman


1. Novus Dues
2. The Luddite
3. Cast The First Stone
4. No Cross
5. Wolf Named Crow
6. Little Man
7. Matre’s Dream
8. Forgive Me
9. Nothing Left To Say
10. Sacred Isolation
11. Old Disaster
12. E.L.M.
13. No Cross No Crown
14. A Quest To Believe (A Call To The Void)
15. Son And Daughter


It’s been 12 years since Pepper Keenan recorded new music with Corrosion Of Conformity. And back in 2014 when he first rejoined the group, fans were hoping it would lead to a new album. On January 12th, the long wait comes to an end, and the highly anticipated ‘No Cross No Crown’ will be unleashed onto the world. After giving this a listen, or a few dozen listens, it’s clear the twelve-year absence didn’t diminish the band chemistry. If anything we believe it’s stronger than ever, and they seem to have picked up right where they left off.

Two singles have already been released, ‘Cast The First Stone’ and ‘Wolf Named Crow’. These two songs have already given fans a prelude to what’s waiting for them on the rest of the album. Everything here has the unmistakable sound of Corrosion Of Conformity from the bands most successful period, the Deliverance/Wiseblood era. The twin guitar riffing from Woody Weatherman and Pepper Keenan is amazing and they sound better than ever, the unique and unmistakable voice of Pepper Keenan, that signature drum sound Reed Mullin is known for, and although Stanton Moore did a great job on ‘In The Arms Of God’, Reed was surely missed and it’s great to see him back on this album. It’s great to have the Deliverance Line up back up, and firing on all cylinders. We can’t forget the glue holding it all together, the stellar bass playing from one of the greatest bass players around, Mike Dean. Mike Dean is a true perfectionist, and he and the rest of the guys put together a solid album. It’s evident right from the intro ‘Novus Deus’, Which means The New God.

‘Norvus Deus’ transitions well into ‘The Luddite’, that has a hammering riff which gets the momentum going heavy right from the start. That old ‘Deliverance’ feeling starts to grow on you a bit, something the band says they were looking to do on this album. This song pulls you in instantly and doesn’t let you go until the end. ‘Cast The First Stone’ and ‘Wolf Named Crow’, sandwich the short instrumental song ‘No Cross’, before they tear into ‘Little Man’, a bluesy tune with a great groove. Not sure two guitarists can compliment each other like Woody and Pepper do. The sound they can create is amazing and powerful. ‘Matre’s Dream’ is a great short instrumental acoustic tune the band is known for, and it breaks up the heavy moments on the record nicely.

At this point, you’re about halfway through the album, and it’s been nothing short of phenomenal. But if you think it can’t get any better your wrong! The second half of ‘No Cross No Crown’ is crushingly good. And it all starts with the tune ‘Forgive Me’, another riff drove song that seems just like old times with Woody and Pepper exchanging solos. ‘Nothing Left To Say’ is that tune the guys always put on the albums, you know the kick ass one like ’13 Angels’ or ‘Rise River Rise’, this tune is it for ‘No Cross No Crown’ and it’s great like the others.

‘Sacred Isolation’ takes you on another short musical break, before kicking it back into gear with what might be the favorite of many people, and maybe ours, to come off this album. ‘Old Disaster’ has a crushing slow riff, this is Corrosion Of Conformity at it’s finest. And the song ‘E.L.M.’ is one of those songs you just crank up, sit back, and enjoy what the COC gods have given us. ‘No Cross No Crown’ is a real slow down from the last two riff burners. But that doesn’t mean it’s any less powerful.

The guys close out the album with the songs ‘A Quest To Believe (A Call To The Void)’ and ‘Son And Daughter’. The latter, again being one of those songs that you just might think is the best this album has to offer. Woody and Pepper have the riffs nailed down for both these songs. Woody is one of the best guitarists around, and he’s known for his insane vibrato technique, that puts his playing in a league all his own. This album is no different. It’s Woody doing what Woody does best.

There are 15 songs on here, and when they’re all done playing, it still doesn’t seem like enough.  This is one of those albums that, once you press play, you don’t stop, you don’t skip anything, and you know every song note for note. That’s what this album quickly becomes. It’s been said before, this album is all killer and no filler. But it’s absolutely true for this one, they are back with a vengeance. Each time we listen to this, a different song becomes our favorite.

Nuclear Blast has numerous pre-order packages up right now on their website. Vinyl, CD’s, cassettes and shirts. We ordered the limited purple with black splatter vinyl. Check out what they have here. Be sure to grab yourself a copy. You can’t find a better Christmas gift than this one. They’re hitting the road with Black Label Society early next year. Get to a show, they are great live. We’ve seen them twice in the last couple years since Pepper has been back, and already have our tickets for February next year.

The ratings for reviews on Myglobalmind are out of 10, but like in Spinal Tap, this one definitely goes to 11.


Written by: Pam and Mark Schaff

Ratings: 11/10

Editors Pick EditorPick One Desire - One Desire Review


Tell Us How You Feel


Album ReleasesAlbum ReviewsNews


Photo Credit: Ange Cobham / Cobspix Photography

VISIONS OF ATLANTIS - Clocks (Official Video) | Napalm Records