Album Reviews

Heavy Metal Kids – Hit The Right Button Plus (Reissue)

Released by Angel Air Records- 2010

Review Added March 09, 2010

Released By Angel Air Records 2010
Original Release: 2003
Style: Power Pop / Pop Rock

1. Message
2. Girl Of My Dreams**
3. Blow It All Away
4. Hit The Right Button
5. Wildlife
6. My Streetlife
7. Viva New York**
8. I Walk Alone
9. Crool World
10. Whiskey
11. A Hundred Skeletons**
12. Gotham City**
13. Voices
14. Chelsea Kids
15. She’s No Angel
16. The Cops Are Coming
17. Delirious
Hot Tracks**

Vocals & Keys – Danny Peyronel
Guitar & Vocals – Marco Guarnerio
Guitar & Vocals – Marco Barusso
Bass & Vocals – Ronnie Thomas
Drums – Keith Boyce

**Note – This review is based solely on the 2010 re-issue of HIT THE RIGHT BUTTON released on 1st March 2010 by Angel Air Music.**

In 2003, U.K power poppers HEAVY METAL KIDS released their comeback album HIT THE RIGHT BUTTON, which was their first release since the 1976 album KITSCH. At the time of the album’s release, it was heralded as a critical success and saw long time HMK fans screaming from the rooftops about how good it was.

HIT THE RIGHT BUTTON has since come to be known as one of the premiere releases in the power pop genre, and since it’s initial release in 2003 there haven’t really been any significant releases in this style save for maybe two albums by the genre’s most recognizable faces CHEAP TRICK, 2006’s ROCKFORD and 2009’s THE LATEST. If for some reason you are yet to hear this album, this version is a great place to start, and for those that already own and enjoy the album there is plenty of reasons for you to re-visit this now classic album.

The four live bonus tracks are a great touch , but the main draw card here is the great attention to detail remastering that’s been done to the album’s original thirteen tracks, seriously the album has never sounded this good and people looking to purchase the album to replace an original copy will notice the difference on sound quality instantly.  Also of notice is the album’s new artwork, which I don’t like as much as the original to be honest, but the added fold out sleeve with full lyrics certainly helps make this version the one to have. Seven years down the track and songs like “VIVA NEW YORK. GIRL OF MY DREAMS and GOTHAMCITY” are still as catchy as ever, but my personal favorite of the album is the slightly humorous, very well  written “A HUNDRED SKELETONS”, which will embed itself  into your brain for all eternity after you hear it just once.

Yet another successful re-issue from ANGEL AIR MUSIC, created with all the love and care one comes to expect from a record label whose primary output are re-issues.

Written by Zeezee

Ratings Zeezee  9/10

Tell Us How You Feel