Album Reviews

Destroy Rebuild Until God Shows – D.R.U.G.S

Released By : Warner Music

Genre : Post-Hardcore, Alt. Rock

Links :


01.  If You Think this Song Is About You, It Probably Is

02.  The Only Thing You Talk About

03.  Graveyard Dancing

04.  Mr. Owl Ate My Metal Worm

05.  Sex Life

06.  Laminated E.T Animal

07.  Stop Reading, Start Doing Pushups

08.  I’m The Rehab, You’re The Drugs

09.  I’m Here To Take The Sky

10.  The Hangman

11.  My Swagger Has A First Name

While the big talk about this band is that they are a supergroup, I feel that maybe just a little bit too ambitious at this point in time, sure all of the members have been in well-respected bands prior to this but truthfully STORY OF THE YEAR, MATCHBOOK ROMANCE, FROM FIRST TO LAST, THE USED and CHIODOS don’t have enough of a history to warrant the supergroup tag just yet. All that being said though, I am still willing to go on record and say that these guys are going to be huge in the near future.

As far as post-hardcore music goes, this is truly one of the best examples of the genre that I have ever heard and it’s obvious that the time each member spent in other bands was merely a warm up for what was to come with this collaboration. Ex-CHIODOS, CINEMATIC SUNRISE, ISLES AND GLACIERS and THE SOUND OF ANIMALS FIGHTING vocalist Craig Owens is clearly the center-piece of the band and the genius that he showed in his previous band has come to full fruition this time around. His swinging vocal style that swerves from emo to punk rock to metal effortlessly has never sounded so complete, and as usual his lyrics and approach are so much more interesting and mature than most other bands in the post-hardcore genre.

The album kicks off with a very catchy song that blends post-hardcore, alternative and punk rock called IF YOU THINK THIS SONG IS ABOUT YOU, IT PROBABLY IS. Yes some will call this pretty standard emo music but looking deeper it is so much more than that. THE ONLY THING YOU TALK ABOUT combines catchy modern alt. rock with hardcore breakdowns and is a song I can see tearing up radio charts everywhere. GRAVEYARD DANCING is yet another song with mass hit potential and should certainly please the PANIC! AT THE DISCO crowd. SEX LIFE is an interesting one, I really like the start and the feel of the chorus but the lyrical subject matter is of a much lower quality that the rest of the album. I;M THEREHAB YOU’RE THE DRUGS is a late album highlight that features some really cool passages an even adds a slight QUEEN inspired moment that elevates the class of this group higher than those in the genre that stick to close to the usual formula.

D.R.U.G.S may well just be the most significant release in the post-hardcore genre in years and one that I’m sure we will hear more about over the coming year. If you normally dismiss the genre, do yourself a favor and just have a bit of listen to this because if there was ever going to an album that would change your mind this is it for sure. This album is a perfect example of just how mature and relevant emo style music can sound when the right people are involved with it.

Written By ZeeZee

Rating : 9/10

Tell Us How You Feel