Album Reviews

Monte Pittman – The Power of Three Review


Released by: Metal Blade Records

Release Date: January 21st, 2014

Genre: Metal



Line Up:

Monte Pittman: guitars & vocals

Kane Ritchotte: drums

Max Whipple: bass



01. A Dark Horse

02. Delusions of Grandeur

03. Everything’s Undone

04. Blood Hungry Thirst

05. On My Mind

06. Away from Here

07. Before the Mourning Son

08. End of the World

09. Missing

10. All Is Fair in Love and War


Madonna’s guitar player releases his third solo album. Don’t be alarmed, this is a metal album and possess none of the pop queens influence, thankfully!

The overall sound musically and vocally for this album is if Prong were fronted ‘’Dirt’’ era Layne Staley of Alice in Chains. As an ex – employee of Prong has left its mark as every song has Prong style jittering riffs infused with bands like Metallica on ‘’Delusions of Grandeur’’ and ‘’Before the Morning Sun’’ Slayer low fret solo on ‘’ A Dark Horse’’ and if the Deftones wouldn’t buy the riff from

‘’ Blood Hungry Thirst’’ Id be surprised – it’s a riff that is them.

This is an album a teenage Monte wanted to hear and wreck stuff to, now he is an older motherplucker he seems to have realized his teenage metal sounds and threaded them together seamlessly. The album has a great guitar tone which comes courtesy of Orange Amps who he endorsed by and will be certainly be of interested to any audiophiles out there who want to know what they can do in experienced hands.

The experienced hands are from non other than Mr. Flemming Rasmussen, who needs no introduction.

A solid purchase album that shows little in the way of originally which is minor gripe considering Monte has written good songs, executed them perfectly and made them sound great.


Written by Garry

Ratings    Garry    7/10

Tell Us How You Feel