Album Reviews

U.D.O.- Decadent Review


Released by: AFM Records

Release Date: February 3rd, 2014

Genre: Heavy Metal



Line Up:

Udo Dirkschneider – Vocals

Kasperi Heikkinen – Guitar

Francesco Jovino – Drums

Fitty Weinhold – Bass

Andrey Smirnov – Guitar


Track list:

1 Speeder

2 Decadent

3 House of Fake

4 Mystery

5 Pain

6 Secrets in Paradise

7 Meaning of Life

8 Breathless

9 Under Your Skin

10 Untouchable

11 Rebels of the Night

12 Words in Flame


Now on their 15th studio outing, the undisputed grandaddy of heavy metal, Udo Dirkschneider, and his band, return with a follow up to 2013’s Steelhammer. Like the majority of U.D.O. albums, they open with an electric jolt, and Speeder is no different. Dirkschneider is typically demonic, the gusting guitars put a classy stamp on this brain shaker.

For an album title track, the chorus on Decadent is hugely unimaginative. But everything else cooks. Fitty Weinhold‘s creepy bass line and the socially accurate lyrics, more than mask that frailty. House of Fake is no nonsense, take no prisoners metal. Axe duo Kasperi Heikkinen and Andrey Smirnov give no quarter here.

If you’re of a nervous disposition, I wouldn’t recommend you listen to Mystery. But thankfully I’m not, and the bloodcurdling menace of this track is wonderfully overpowering. On Pain, Dirkschneider‘s anger at those who dictate modern society is feverishly evident. A giant middle finger is raised throughout.

Starting of with beautifully intertwined acoustic guitars, Secrets in Paradise, slowly ascends to a earthshaking chorus. To describe this tune as epic would be doing it a gross injustice. The song ticks all the power ballad boxes. Though it probably won’t excite the metal purists. Sadly, Meaning of Life, doesn’t detonate in the same way as previous tracks on this album. But the growling guitars are fantastic.

Dirkschneider‘s barbaric bark and Smirnov & Heikkinen‘s melodic riff work, fuse brilliantly on Breathless, without doubt a typical U.D.O. track. If you suffer from a severe build up of wax in your ears, Under Your Skin, will act as the perfect antidote. This full blooded speed metal track has the whole band in feral mode, especially drummer Francesco Jovino, who batters his toms with savage gusto.

Untouchable won’t win any awards for originality, but the consistent unabated rhythm, complete with an unruly chorus, are a winner on every level. Penultimate track, Rebels of the Night, and closer, Words in Flame, are prime reminders as to whyU.D.O. have survived 15 studio albums.

Their brand of metal doesn’t push the envelope, nor does it try to. U.D.O. know exactly what they want, and most important to them, they know what their fans want. As long as their releasing caustic metal albums like this, the genre is in good hands.


Written by Brian Boyle

Ratings    Brian    8/10

Tell Us How You Feel