Live Gig News Photos

X Japan take Over London for the Release of ‘We Are X’ & Epic Wembley Show


 X JAPAN Take Over London for the Release of ‘We Are X’ & Epic Wembley Show

OST: Out Now! – DVD ‘We Are X’ 1st May

 They’ve done it again! “X Japan deliver a unique, moving experience.” – My Global Mind

Stealing Number 1 in 9 countries on iTunes with their We Are X soundtrack and claiming a No1 in the UK Rock/Metal Chart as well as a spot in the Top 30 UK Albums Chart and Number 3 in UK Soundtrack Chart. The Japanese rock band is taking the world by storm.

Their film, “We Are X,” which premiered to a sold out audience at Piccadilly’s Picture House, tells of the trials and heartache the band has endured since their start in the 1980s but their continued success and growing fandom proves the power their anthems have to stir something inside us all.  So empowering is their music that on the day of their signing at HMV, Oxford Street was forced to shut down overrun with more than 1000 fans all in line to see the cinematic and high-spirited members of X Japan.

But X Japan is no stranger to such excitement inciting a spectacular energy with every performance and their arrival at Wembley Arena was no exception.

Music-News penned the experience as “mesmerizing” and remarked on the bands keen ability “to seem to hover around a magical musical sweet spot!” X Japan is not merely a rock band, it is a movement and one that is taking the world.


MyGlobalMind were at the Wembley show and our review can be found here:

X Japan, #XDAY, Live at SSE Arena, Wembley, March 4 2017

Julie Weir, Head of Music for Nations at Sony Records had this to say X Japan are the biggest band you have never heard of, provoking Beatles-esque levels of hysteria from rabid fans that hang on their every word and movement. They split up some time ago and reformed in 2007 but the culmination of the release of the We are X documentary, a long awaited spectacular Wembley arena show and the release of the soundtrack to the Documentary has provoked a flurry of media and fan activity.  After all of this time of stasis, one would assume the fandom would have waned……but these are the most loyal fans in the universe and have engaged with the band throughout socials, online and in person….resulting in a chart position of 27 in this weeks Official Chart for a soundtrack release. A massive achievement for them – and sets the band in great stead with their army for the release of their first Studio album in 20 years later this year. They. Are. X.”

 Hailed as “fascinating” by the New York Times, ‘We Are X’ is a transcendent and beautifully shot rock & roll story about the most successful rock band in Japanese history, X JAPAN. They’ve sold over 30 million albums, singles and videos combined; sold out Japan’s 55,000-seat Tokyo Dome a record 18 times; and played to tens of thousands of fans outside of Japan. Under the enigmatic direction of YOSHIKI–composer, classically-trained pianist, drummer and the creative force behind the group–X JAPAN has captivated a wide range of admirers as Sir George Martin, KISS, Marilyn Manson, Wes Borland, Stan Lee, and the Japanese Emperor-while pioneering a spectacle-driven style of rock music called “Visual Kei” (visual-kay), a one-of-a-kind cultural phenomenon.

 In late 2016, ‘WE ARE X’ was released to theatres across America after winning multiple awards at the Sundance and SXSW Film Festivals. Directed by acclaimed documentarian Stephen Kijak (Stones in Exile, Scott Walker: 30 Century Man), and produced by the Oscar-winning production team behind  Searching for Sugar Man, WE ARE X is an astonishingly intimate portrait of a deeply haunted–but truly unstoppable–virtuoso and the music that has enthralled legions of the world’s most devoted fans.


X JAPAN–YOSHIKI/drums, piano; TOSHI/vocals; PATA/guitar; HEATH/bass; and SUGIZO/guitar, violin

WE ARE X soundtrack track list – Sony Music’s Legacy Recordings

  1. La Venus (Acoustic Version),* 
  2. Kurenai (from The Last Live) ,
  3. Forever Love,
  4. A Piano String in Es Dur,
  5. Dahlia,
  6. Crucify My Love ,
  7. Xclamation,
  8. Standing Sex (from X Japan Returns),
  9. Tears,
  10. Longing ~Setsubou no Yoru~,
  11. Art of Life (3rd Movement),
  12. Endless Rain (from The Last Live),
  13. X (from The Last Live),
  14. Without You (Unplugged)*,

* New Recording

For more information, visit:


X Japan Facebook / @xjapanofficial Twitter / X Japan YouTube

YOSHIKI Facebook / @YoshikiOfficial Twitter / YOSHIKI YouTube

@yoshikiofficial Instagram


Itunes Link:

Amazon Link:




Tell Us How You Feel