Album Releases Album Reviews CD Releases

Motörhead – Under Cöver review

Genre: Rock

Label: Motorhead Music

Release Date: September 2017

Line Up:

Lemmy Kilmister – Bass/Vocals,

Phil Campbell – Guitar,

Mikkey Dee – Drums,


1. Breaking the Law (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2008

2. God Save the Queen (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000

3. Heroes (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015

4. Starstruck (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2014

5. Cat Scratch Fever (Produced by Peter Solley) 1992

6. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001

7. Sympathy for the Devil (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015

8. Hellraiser (Produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992

9. Rockaway Beach (Mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002

10.Shoot ‘Em Down (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001

11. Whiplash (Produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005

Two years ago, Lemmy Kilmister celebrated his seventieth birthday, embarked his final tour with Motörhead, and tragically died just before 2016 hit. The metal community were at a loss for words hearing his passing and we continue to mourn to this day. It’s not easy letting go of a legend, however, their music makes them eternal. With that said, the group released a posthumous cover album entitled, ‘Under Cöver,’ which is out now.

‘Under Cöver’ is a collection of recordings spanning over two decades of material from 1992 up until 2015’s ‘Bad Magic’ recording sessions. Lemmy, Phil Campbell, and Mikkey Dee enjoyed taking songs that they liked from any genre, and gave it a “Motörheading” spin through the “Motörizer.” Eleven tracks are now available that features previously released and unreleased tracks.

The only song worthwhile is the ironic choice of David Bowie’s “Heroes.” Bowie died not too long after Lemmy and it is no secret that many continue to grieve him as well. This factor makes it simultaneously haunting and intriguing and will most likely bring tears to any listener.

However, there are predictable tracks such as opening with Judas Priest’s “Breaking the Law.” It doesn’t add much depth to it and it’s been done many times before. The punk hits adds an enjoyable bounce with songs by Sex Pistols’ “God Save the Queen” and the Ramones’ “Rockaway Beach.” Other flavorful tracks include Rolling Stones’ “Sympathy For The Devil,” and Metallica’s “Whiplash.”

Under Cöver is best to listen to as background noise or at a party/event. It’s a casual collection which includes jam-like material and shouldn’t be taken too seriously. It is more or less a treasure box for those die-hard fans and should be considered as a collectible item, nothing more and nothing less.

Rating: 7/10

Written by,
Zenae D. Zukowski


Tell Us How You Feel