Album Reviews

Lizzy Borden – My Midnight Things Review

Released by: Metal Blade Records

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Rock




1. My Midnight Things
2. Obsessed With You
3. Long May They Haunt Us
4. The Scar Across My Heart
5. A Stranger To Love
6. The Perfect Poison
7. Run Away With Me
8. Our Love Is God
9. My Midnight Things (Reprise)
10. We Belong To The Shadows
11. Long May They Haunt Us (Reprise)
12. Silent Night
13. Waiting In The Wings (2018)


I remember back in the day, flipping through some magazine like Hit Parader and seeing this ad for a new album called Visual Lies by this band Lizzy Borden. This silver faced, freakish looking person was seeming to climb out of the TV with this garish smile that was equal parts lunacy and violence. I wasn’t quite sure what to anticipate, but I was compelled enough to order the tape. Upon its arrival, I was struck by how much the sound and the visual worked perfectly together. Glammy without being wimpy, heavy metal without losing the melody; Lizzy Borden was another one of those sounds I had been waiting to hear for some time, even at such a young age. I began my lifelong love for their music. It seemed with each album Borden would reinvent himself- a modern day Alice Cooper with his own vision and sound. Since the 1987 follow-up to Visual Lies, Master of Disguise, Borden has taken long spans of time to record new material. 2000 saw the return with Deal With the Devil which was then followed up seven years later with Appointment With Death. With every subsequent release, you find yourself wondering how drastic will the sound change? Will he move away from the style that brought him to the world? And again, with his brand new album My Midnight Things, that same question swirled in my mind, only to be answered the same way as before: he only gets better and better.

My Midnight Things manages to maintain that signature sound that is 100% Lizzy Borden, heavy and melodic, into 2018 without it sounding out of place. It’s as if he’s unable to make a bad album. Perhaps the long span of time between releases it what keeps him sounding so fresh? I just try to wrap my mind (as well as my ears) around tracks like “The Scar Across My Heart” which is no denying a Lizzy track, but he’s managed to add a depth to it, taking pages from modern acts that might not be totally metal, but he makes it so. The fact he’s able to keep writing such catchy songs as “Long May They Haunt Us,” “My Midnight Things,” and “We Belong To the Shadows,” consistently keeping his sound vital, current yet intrinsically Lizzy Borden…he’s far deserving of more success than he has at this point. Plus you get a very dark and foreboding version of “Silent Night” that gives a whole new spin on the Christmas classic!

It seems as if Lizzy Borden is always working on an album, and around the time it is unleashed I finally hear about it coming out, and it’s been a surprise three albums in a row now. Not that I’m complaining about these wonderful surprises, because with each new album I love his music more and more. No one past or present has a musical presentation as dramatic, inspiring, and moving as Lizzy Borden, and his My Midnight Things keeps his talent on that same trajectory.


Written by: Chris Martin

Ratings: 9/10

Tell Us How You Feel