Album Reviews

Ian Parry – In Flagrante Delicto Review

Released by: Metal Mind Productions

Release Date: February 21st 2020



Line Up:

guitarists – Stephan Lill (Vanden plas) & co-writer; Patrick Rondat (Jean Michel Jarre/Elegy/Consortium Project; Timo Somers (Delain/Vengeance ; Keyboard player & Co-songwriter – Jeroen van der Wiel (Rock Emporium/Odyssice; drummers – Casey Grillo (Kamelot/Queensrÿke), Imre Daun (Brian Robertson band/Rock Emporium), Andreas Lill (Vanden Plas); bass guitarists – Barend Courbois (Blind Guardian), Torsten Reichert (Vanden Plas/Ian Parry – Visions) Guido Stocker



1. Spaceman
2. Travellers (Across the Known Universe)
3. In Flagrante Delicto
4. Fool’s Paradise
5. Impulse
6. Ingenious
7. Wish
8. Fly
9. The Day We Stop Dreaming
10.So Far So Good
It’s so weird how sometimes you will follow and artist hot and heavy to just have them fall off the map. I listen to so much music that it is physically impossible for me to listen to everything I want to. I have to prioritize my listening pleasure. Primarily I try to listen to as many things for potential review first, followed by bands I’m about to see live in order to brush up. I’m also very much a collector so I have CD’s coming in quite often and want to take the time to listen to these. Then there are just those moments you have GOT to pull out an album and play it because your ears are begging for it. So it’s not too shocking when out of nowhere, someone you may have forgotten about all of a sudden pops up. This is what happened when I heard Ian Parry (ex-Elegy, Consortium Project) was releasing a new solo album.

It’s called In Flagrante Delicto. Even though this is only his 5th solo album, his voice can be found on countless albums from an almost 40-year career. Without having the option of going back and poring over his back catalog, I was instantly captivated by how fresh the album is. His voice sounds fantastic. Musically it is a mixed bag of keyboard and guitar-heavy hard rock, very melodic and hooky, and moments of AOR meets Adult Contemporary. It’s not a heavy album at all (wasn’t necessarily expecting it to be too heavy,) but a perfect showcase of his powerful voice. A singer has the toughest job in combating the aging process with their instrument (with drummers not too for behind.) Many times, as has been perfectly demonstrated by some of the old greats, they just can’t pull it off. Parry deftly weaves his voice through such great songs as “Wish,” “Fool’s Paradise,” and “Fly.”

Welcome back, Mr. Parry! I for one am glad you have released a brand new album of some passionate and catchy music, as well as powerfully charged with the subject matter. Long time fans will be pleasantly surprised at how good an album this is. In Flagrante Delicto is a nice addition to a very extensive and brilliant catalog of music.


Written by: Chris Martin

Ratings: 8/10

Tell Us How You Feel