Sons of Apollo – Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony DVD/CD Review

There are supercharged versions of the band's songs like "Signs Of The Time," "Divine Addiction," and "Lost In Oblivion" which showcase the band's versatility to play their complicated music...

Released by: Inside Out Music

Release Date: Out Now!!!

Genre: Progressive Metal



Mike Portnoy – drums and vocals
Derek Sherinian – keyboards
Billy Sheehan – bass
Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal – guitar and vocals
Jeff Scott Soto – vocals
The second set of the show features the Plovdiv
Symphony Orchestra, dubbed the “Plovdiv Psychotic
Symphony” for the night


Symphony (02:12:25)
1 – God of the Sun (11:56)
2 – Signs of the Time (06:38)
3 – Divine Addiction (05:14)
4 – That Metal Show Theme (00:56)
5 – Just Let Me Breathe (05:53)
6 – Billy Sheehan Bass Solo (04:42)
7 – Lost in Oblivion (04:45)
8 – JSS Solo Spot: The Prophet’s Song/Save Me (09:33)
9 – Alive (05:12)
10 – The Pink Panther Theme (04:31)
11 – Opus Maximus (11:11)
12 – Kashmir (09:35)
13 – Gates of Babylon (07:48)
14 – Labyrinth (09:24)
15 – Dream On (04:53)
16 – Diary of a Madman (07:51)
17 – Comfortably Numb (09:16)
18 – The Show Must Go On (04:22)
19 – Hell’s Kitchen (04:31)
20 – Derek Sherinian Keyboard Solo (08:46)
21 – Lines in the Sand (12:40)
22 – Bumblefoot Solo Spot (02:38)
23 – And the Cradle Will Rock (05:58)
24 – Coming Home (09:32)


Sons of Apollo have recently released their live DVD/CD concert Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony DVD/CD via InsideOutMusic/Sony.

The DVD/CD features the prog-rock band performing at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria alongside a full orchestra and choir, playing tracks from their debut CD, Psychotic Symphony. The band also performed cover songs from bands like Van Halen, Aerosmith, Pink Floyd, and Ozzy Osbourne. All songs are played with a level of technical proficiency that could make the original artists rethink their playing abilities!

We have all heard the term “supergroup” thrown around for project bands or for “cash and grab” tours, but many of those bands truly don’t deliver; leaving you unsatisfied and unfulfilled. Sons of Apollo are different, not because they have some of the best rock and progressive musicians that one could ever assemble; but they also have an undeniable chemistry when writing, recording, and perform live together. This DVD/CD showcases their talents and chemistry in grand fashion.

Sons of Apollo consists of former Dream Theater members Mike Portnoy [drums] and Derek Sherinian [keyboards], former Guns N’ Roses guitarist Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, from David Lee Roth’s solo band, Winery Dogs and Mr. Big is Billy Sheehan on bass, and handling vocal duties is Jeff Scott Soto formerly of Journey and Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force. Together they are a powerful progressive metal band with technical playing on guitar, bass, keyboard & drums.

The sonics and visual aspect of recording and filming in this ancient theater are par-excellence. There are supercharged versions of the band’s songs like “Signs Of The Time,” “Divine Addiction,” and “Lost In Oblivion” which showcase the band’s versatility to play their complicated music live. Not a nuance of their playing is overlooked on their songs or the cover tunes which had the band rolling up their sleeves on furious versions of “Diary Of A Madman,” “Dream On,” Comfortably Numb,” “And the Cradle Will Rock” and many more.

Each member gets their time in the spotlight; Ron dazzles the Bulgaria crowd with a blazing guitar solos on his double-neck guitar, Derek delivers a lightning-fast keyboard solo, and of course, Billy shows the crowd his ten-finger assault on his bass.

This is a well-produced DVD/CD that should entertain any fan of the band or prog-rock musician until the band’s next CD and tour. It is available as a limited deluxe 3CD + DVD + Blu-Ray Artbook, Special Edition 3CD + DVD Digipak, Standalone Blu-Ray & Digital Album and the music can be purchased here

Watch the trailer for the live release here:


Ratings: 9/10

Written by: Robert Cavuoto

My Global Mind – Staff Writer/Journalist/Photographer


Tell Us How You Feel


CD ReleasesDVD Reviews
Five Finger Death Punch, Megadeth & The Hu @ Northwell Health At Jones Beach Theater Wantagh, Ny On September 12th, 2022
Five Finger Death Punch, Megadeth & The Hu @ Northwell Health At Jones Beach Theater Wantagh, Ny On September 12th, 2022

Five Finger Death Punch, Megadeth & The Hu @ Northwell Health At Jones Beach Theater Wantagh, Ny On September 12th, 2022

Photo Credit: Dhruv Kumar

Ayron Jones - "Filthy" (Official Music Video)