Album Reviews

March In Arms – Pulse Of The Daring Review

Release by: Self

Genre: Power Metal



Line Up:

Ryan Knutson – Guitar/Vocals
Jon Parker – Guitar
Sheldon Swan – Guitar
Phil Mueller – Drums



1 – 1914
2 – Altar Of The Gun
3 – Welcome The Blitz
4 – Nisei
5 – Pulse Of The Daring
6 – An Act Of Valor
7 – No Years Resolution
8 – Thunderbolt
9 – Omaha
10 – Not For Nothing


Hold your horses and stop for a minute, because MARCH IN ARMS from Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States is a superb sensational band you absolutely don’t want to miss, because they are playing high-class Melodic Metal like a mix between EVERGREY, PAGAN’S MIND, BALANCE OF POWER and ICED EARTH, with here and there some 80s melodic heavy rock/Hardrock influences as well.

Pulse of the Daring is their 2nd album since their formation in 2012 and I am completely overwhelmed by the fantastic sound of this band! Released independently on December 4th, 2020, this album beats the hell out of the major label releases done in the Metal world at the moment! The band has a fantastic lead singer and the sound is massive, while the songs are loaded with incredible melodies that are in the upper league of Melodic Metal. The band released their debut a few years ago and I hope to hear this one too because Pulse of the Daring is such a sensational new record.

The band’s songs are about epic battles from the past and everything sounds crystal clear here, thanks to Ryan Knutson – Guitar/Vocals, Jon Parker – Guitar, Sheldon Swan – Guitar, Collin Citrowski – Bass and Bobby Cook – Drums, with additional performances from Emily Swan – Backing Vocals, Esther Nissen – Violin and Audrey Graber – Cello. 10 songs are included, and all of them are highlights, but the EVERGREY meets PAGAN’S MIND’s ish 1914 and Altar of the Gun, the 80s influenced Welcome the Blitz (LEATHERWOLF meets FIFTH ANGEL), Nisei (incredible melodies all over the place!), An act of Valor and the faster uptempo Melodic Power Metal piece Thunderbolt (ICED EARTH-ish) are top of the bill! This CD is a must-have for any well-respected Melodic Metal fan out there!


Written by: Gabor Kleinbloesem

Ratings: Gabor   9/10


Tell Us How You Feel